IGNORED

Just got an Expansion Module #2...so close...

SpotAnime

Man, this is such a bummer. I finally picked up a beautiful condition Expansion Module #2 from a local classic games shop at a good deal - box, manuals and all - and the damn thing won't work. Pedal works, wheel doesn't. And it is CLEAN inside and out. I even opened it up and aside from an old spider web, it was pretty much pristine.

I emailed Terry at EColeco and he doesn't have the parts to service them anymore. So, I saw the other thread in this forum about new hardware as an EM#2 replacement and I got excited. If someone came up with a replacement board I could swap out of the original product, that would be ideal. I'm no engineer though, and from what I've read the Colecovision is a fussy console. Anyone know of any of the original engineers who worked on it? Maybe they could speak to some of the power requirements and how to avoid blowing out the console through the controller port...

So what are my options? Look, for a working wheel on Ebay?

More than likely your transistors went out, they are not too hard to change.

Look for the Colecovision Driving wheel troubleshooter. Its got a great flow chart that will get you through the repair.

Good Luck!

Do you have a specific link? I've Googled and can only find a mention of the flowchart. My bet is it's one of these (but can't find which one, they either seem to be relating to the roller controller, regular controller or console):

http://www.colecovisionzone.com/page/coleco%20industries/tech.html

Oy, I forgot how hard it was for me to find these as well..

Here you go...

http://colecovisionzone.com/photos/coleco/module2%20tech2.pdf

If I remember Q1 and Q2 NPN transistors had to be changed in my wheel, but once they were it ran just fine.

They are big transistors.. I wish I can remember the new part number as the troubleshooter document does not say the part number.