Jump to content

Photo

Need .hfe formatted by HFDC


118 replies to this topic

#51 Jeff_HxC2001 OFFLINE  

Jeff_HxC2001

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:92270 France

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 12:20 AM

Michael,

 

Not sure what is going on yet, but I configured my Geneve with a Myarc HFDC.  I tried formatting.  The Lotharek stepped through both sides of all 40 tracks formatting.  Then, when it went back to sector 0, the MDOS formatting routine gave me an error.

 

Not sure why yet.

​Either way, here is the file formatted, but with no correct writes on sector 0.  Not sure if this will help you or not.

​Beery

 

 

Regarding what i can see in this HFE, i think that there is a bitrate mixup.

 

Please be aware that you can't change track density into the HFE : An DD HFE can't be changed to HD, a HD HFE can't be changed to DD or SD, etc. The track size is different at each density.

 

Do you know which bitrate is used with this controller ?



#52 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,316 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 3:39 AM

 

Please be aware that you can't change track density into the HFE : An DD HFE can't be changed to HD, a HD HFE can't be changed to DD or SD, etc. The track size is different at each density.

 

Do you know which bitrate is used with this controller ?

 

 

Interestingly, I hit the same problem in MAME with my HFE implementation. In the 99/8 emulation I formatted a SD image to DD, and a DD to SD, and the formatter of the 99/8 said that the disk is not formatted. Then, on the second try, it worked. (Funny thing is that I am wondering about my own code ...)

 

The HFDC can do SD and DD, and I think also HD, but typically the first two.



#53 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Moonsweeper

  • 483 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 5:06 AM

I tried a number of options.  To my knowledge, and I can not swear to it, I thought I picked a DS/DD image and formatted it as DS/DD.

 

If it is an issue with the bitrate, then how would the Myarc FDC work with formatting the image while formatting the same image with the Myarc HFDC not?

 

 

Beery



#54 Jeff_HxC2001 OFFLINE  

Jeff_HxC2001

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:92270 France

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 7:24 AM

I tried a number of options.  To my knowledge, and I can not swear to it, I thought I picked a DS/DD image and formatted it as DS/DD.

 

If it is an issue with the bitrate, then how would the Myarc FDC work with formatting the image while formatting the same image with the Myarc HFDC not?

 

 

Beery

 

I don't know, i know nothing about these controllers, but anyway take your HFE file and open it into the hxc software. you will see that the track viewer that there is no sector at all.

i suspect that the bitrate used by FDC is for 360 RPM drives, at 300kbits/s instead of 250kbits/s. You can anyway change/force the bitrate with the internal menu.



#55 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,316 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 9:00 AM

We never had 360 rpm drives in the TI world, so this sounds less likely.



#56 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,505 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 9:20 AM

So I created a 1.44 pc disk in the windows software and then copied to the SD.. then formatted on the Geneve with the lotherek drive. The same geneve which had been used previously with a 1.44 floppy disk drive in the same location.

I'm happy to try whatever format is recommended in creating the image.

Greg

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#57 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,316 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 9:55 AM

So do you now have a successfully formatted HFE image (by HFDC)? If yes, please mail it to me.



#58 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Stargunner

  • 1,407 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 9:58 AM

I've been using the blank images from this thread:

http://atariage.com/...ment/?p=3176448

 

DSDD, DSSD, and SSSD are all 981K.

 

Jeff, can you please check those images first to make sure they are valid?



#59 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,505 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 9:59 AM

No I posted the results earlier FAIL

So do you now have a successfully formatted HFE image (by HFDC)? If yes, please mail it to me.


Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#60 BeeryMiller OFFLINE  

BeeryMiller

    Moonsweeper

  • 483 posts
  • Location:Campbellsburg, KY

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 10:53 AM

I've got a Myarc HFDC diskette on its way to John today for him to do his Kyroflux thing if something does not happen sooner.

Beery



#61 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,316 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 11:06 AM

I'm somewhat sorry that this caused so much ado, for I had thought this would be the easiest way to check the HFDC emulation. Let's hope that this clarifies things finally. Thanks to you all.



#62 RickyDean OFFLINE  

RickyDean

    Dragonstomper

  • 892 posts

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 11:15 AM

I will try tonight to format a HD and DD disk image on both my Gotek and HxC tonight, on one or both of my HFDC's, if the Geneve, I just repaired will cooperate. If it does, I will post my results, whatever they may be here tomorrow.



#63 Jeff_HxC2001 OFFLINE  

Jeff_HxC2001

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:92270 France

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 11:53 AM

I'm somewhat sorry that this caused so much ado, for I had thought this would be the easiest way to check the HFDC emulation. Let's hope that this clarifies things finally. Thanks to you all.

 

If this is for the HFDC emulation, it is maybe more interesting to format a true floppy disk and redump it with a kryoflux/scp board, isn't it ?



#64 Jeff_HxC2001 OFFLINE  

Jeff_HxC2001

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:92270 France

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 11:57 AM

I've been using the blank images from this thread:

http://atariage.com/...ment/?p=3176448

 

DSDD, DSSD, and SSSD are all 981K.

 

Jeff, can you please check those images first to make sure they are valid?

 

they look fine but please note that there is no HD images in this images.



#65 RickyDean OFFLINE  

RickyDean

    Dragonstomper

  • 892 posts

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 12:10 PM

 

they look fine but please note that there is no HD images in this images.

Now when I say HD, I mean High Density 1.44 not hard drive images, just to be clear.



#66 Jeff_HxC2001 OFFLINE  

Jeff_HxC2001

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:92270 France

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 12:10 PM

No I posted the results earlier FAIL
Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

 

Please share the failed HFE file.



#67 Jeff_HxC2001 OFFLINE  

Jeff_HxC2001

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:92270 France

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 12:11 PM

Now when I say HD, I mean High Density 1.44 not hard drive images, just to be clear.

 

Yes me too. No HD images in the link pointed by acadiel.



#68 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,505 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 12:12 PM

 

they look fine but please note that there is no HD images in this images.

 

Ok Jeff,

 

The HFDC is capable of a 1.44 format (not pc FAT obviously) so it uses the same drive hardware as a PC for that.. DS/HD 360rpm no?

 

How would you recommend I create a blank HFE image for formatting on this?

 

I created one with the PC 1.44 format, and this is the result after the HFDC attempting a GENEVE/HFDC 1.44 format on it(attached) It goes through each track in the format routine and then media errors immediately 

 

Greg

Attached Files



#69 Jeff_HxC2001 OFFLINE  

Jeff_HxC2001

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:92270 France

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 12:23 PM

 

Ok Jeff,

 

The HFDC is capable of a 1.44 format (not pc FAT obviously) so it uses the same drive hardware as a PC for that.. DS/HD 360rpm no?

 

How would you recommend I create a blank HFE image for formatting on this?

 

I created one with the PC 1.44 format, and this is the result after the HFDC attempting a GENEVE/HFDC 1.44 format on it(attached) It goes through each track in the format routine and then media errors immediately 

 

Greg

 

The image look fine. i suppose that this is not the one coming from your sdcard/usb stick after the failure ?



#70 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,505 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 12:51 PM

 

The image look fine. i suppose that this is not the one coming from your sdcard/usb stick after the failure ?

 

no its the one after the failure, after the format routine wrote to all tracks  then media errored



#71 Jeff_HxC2001 OFFLINE  

Jeff_HxC2001

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:92270 France

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 12:56 PM

 

no its the one after the failure, after the format routine wrote to all tracks  then media errored

 

Then this is becoming odder : The image is not altered at all. Look like nothing was written to the image. Did you saw "WA" on the lcd during the formatting ?



#72 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,505 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 1:48 PM

here's a video:

 

also here's the file again off my sd

 

https://photos.app.g...k5JiRV7bBnuPus9

Attached Files



#73 Jeff_HxC2001 OFFLINE  

Jeff_HxC2001

    Chopper Commander

  • 106 posts
  • Location:92270 France

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 2:17 PM

here's a video:

 

also here's the file again off my sd

 

https://photos.app.g...k5JiRV7bBnuPus9

 

Thanks. Everything look fine. So unless there is no flux coming from the FDC the image should be at least altered... You are formatting in HD mode ?

EDIT : It is altered and it is similar to the BeeryMiller image.

 

Is there a schematic of the HFDC available somewhere ?


Edited by Jeff_HxC2001, Wed May 9, 2018 2:22 PM.


#74 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,505 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 2:22 PM

http://ftp.whtech.com/datasheets%20and%20manuals/Hardware/Myarc/MYARC%20HFDC%20Manual%204th%20edition.pdf is the only docs I know of off the top of my head, michael prob has schematics if they aren't in there 



#75 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,505 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed May 9, 2018 2:29 PM

in the meantime I will grab a floppy drive and try to dump the 1.44 disk i formatted on a real floppy on the Geneve 






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users