Jump to content

Photo

SillyPack 2k17 released

SillyVenture 2k17 Compilation

32 replies to this topic

#26 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 9,324 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:03 PM

WePlash does not require VBXE to load. when i tried to run the Sillyventure pack BATCH file the 1st time i a also got the '"Weplash data not found:EF03 E0E0E0E0" message and i suspect that the SIDE CF image was not loaded to proper location, strangely after rebooting my PC and running the batch file again everything worked fine.

 

if you have SIDE2 cartridge you can burn the .IMG file to a CF cart using WINIMAGE tool, boot the ATARI COMPUTER with SIDE2 in spartados x mode and the demo will play automatically on any Atari XL computer.

 

if i had a MYIDE2 cart i would probably could make the demo work on that cart as well.

This has given me an idea though. Normally MyIDE 2 is MyDOS & MyBIOS based, but thanks to FJC's SpartaDOS X drivers for MyIDE, 2 you can set up MyIDE 2 to have SpartaDOS X in sram or, like I have, the actual SpartaDOS X cartridge with pass-thru. My point is, I will see if I can get your demo running through MyIDE with SpartaDOS X using FJC's driver.


Edited by Gunstar, Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:03 PM.


#27 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 13,775 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:29 PM

The only example of use of the BRK instruction I saw - assuming it was intentional - assumed that $00 existed at the target location without being initialised.

#28 JAC! OFFLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,719 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:21 PM

The only example of use of the BRK instruction I saw - assuming it was intentional - assumed that $00 existed at the target location without being initialised.

Reharden uses BRK for parts for the sound replay combined with POKEY timers.

.local zpcode, zpvarsend

irq sta isa+1
lda #0
sta irqen

irqsplcnt
sb2 lda samplebuf+$18 ;this is page start as the buffer is aligned to xxe8
sta sample_register

.ifdef debugtimers
and #$e0
beq debugok
nop ;wrong value - place breakpoint here to notice
debugok
.endif

inc irqsplcnt+1

irqtpt
lda timerpattern+5
sta AUDF1+(timer-1)*2
dec irqtpt+1
bpl irqmorept
lda #timerpatternmax
sta irqtpt+1

irqmorept

lda #timer
sta irqen

isa lda #0
rti

 

And I found the issue when loading with from DOS another OS than Altirra OS (which I had used for testing).
Altirra OS leaves more free space on the stack and I unintentionally relied on that. Will try to fix that.
Turning a program that loads straight 52k into RAM into something that loads from DOS is a real challenge...



#29 foft OFFLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • 747 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:40 PM

Ah, that explains it. Yes, sure enough loads fine using Altirra OS on the hardware Im using.

Another question! I find turbo loading to the menu with Hias is patch works, but not from the menu. I thought that is just my issue, does anyone else see that?

I should add Im still enjoying the new sillypack very much, they are all really great:)

#30 JAC! OFFLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,719 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:53 AM

Ah, that explains it. Yes, sure enough loads fine using Altirra OS on the hardware Im using.

Another question! I find turbo loading to the menu with Hias is patch works, but not from the menu. I thought that is just my issue, does anyone else see that?

I should add Im still enjoying the new sillypack very much, they are all really great:)

 

Yes I see the same effect with standard XL OS + HISIO patch. No idea why though.

I have reharden working when loaded from MYDOS DUP on real hardware with XL OS.

But not yet from the pack. Must be some timing issue.



#31 JAC! OFFLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,719 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Wed Jul 18, 2018 1:44 AM

Update: Thanks to the help from phaeron I managed to isolate the stack overrun that occurs with normal SIO and Atari OS. The donwload has been updated accordingly. 



#32 Sandor / HARD OFFLINE  

Sandor / HARD

    Space Invader

  • 43 posts
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland

Posted Wed Jul 18, 2018 7:14 AM

Update: Thanks to the help from phaeron I managed to isolate the stack overrun that occurs with normal SIO and Atari OS. The donwload has been updated accordingly. 

 

Thanks a lot for investing so much energy into getting it to work!



#33 JAC! OFFLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,719 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Wed Jul 18, 2018 11:03 AM

 

Thanks a lot for investing so much energy into getting it to work!

Well, you can't really release a demo pack where the winning demo doesn't run.

And you promised to be more mercyful next time, too :-).






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users