Jump to content

Photo

Aaron the Aardvark (WIP)


102 replies to this topic

#51 agradeneu OFFLINE  

agradeneu

    Moonsweeper

  • 413 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 4, 2018 1:11 AM

I attempted to draw an aardvark. Actually, I replaced most of the graphics. I wanted it to look real, and the result of me drawing them is it looks more like a cartoon.

attachicon.gifaaronscreenshot20180803.png

I would say flesh out the Gameplay mechanics first, it doesn't matter if the graphics are ugly atm. If you have a decent fun to play game, artists eventually will come.



#52 agradeneu OFFLINE  

agradeneu

    Moonsweeper

  • 413 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 4, 2018 1:45 AM

VJ keeps on crashing with it :-( IMHO it may not to be wise to start with a wave System or "adding" Levels if the Gameplay is not fleshed out. Try to build a 1 Level prototype where you can go crazy with ideas, test them, make a ONE real fun Level. THEN try to add Levels. The experimental, playful, chaotic stage is crucial for creating anything meaningful.

 

My proposals would be:

 

- cut the size of the main character, by at least 50%

- Add much more enemies on screen

- Experiment with moving Patterns, Speed of enemies

- work on the controls

- make the simple idea of dodging really fun to Play

- realize the potential of your Gameplay, add new feats

- the creative part should get all of your Attention. Don't bother About release date, design boxes and Manuals, or even posting every Little Progresses on AA. Making the game should be fun for YOURSELF.

 

Have fun!


Edited by agradeneu, Sat Aug 4, 2018 2:05 AM.


#53 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sat Aug 4, 2018 9:25 AM

I don't know why Virtual Jaguar is crashing with the game. I'm using the game just fine with it.



#54 agradeneu OFFLINE  

agradeneu

    Moonsweeper

  • 413 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 4, 2018 12:50 PM

I don't know why Virtual Jaguar is crashing with thse game. I'm using the game just fine with it.

Yes, now it working fine on mine too.



#55 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:34 PM

An update. I returned to working on this game again. I've been working on it all day. I got 5 UFOs on wave 5 and above. And they all throw bombs at you.



#56 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 10:05 PM

Added a few more waves with the UFOs not moving horizontally. I have a problem, though. The UFOs positions are in the same place each time. I'm using RND so I don't know why.



#57 Sporadic OFFLINE  

Sporadic

    Dragonstomper

  • 515 posts
  • Probably RB+ing
  • Location:UK

Posted Wed Aug 22, 2018 12:32 AM

Added a few more waves with the UFOs not moving horizontally. I have a problem, though. The UFOs positions are in the same place each time. I'm using RND so I don't know why.

 

Probably have a read here if you haven't already;

 

http://atariage.com/...ction-question/



#58 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Aug 22, 2018 1:36 AM

OK, I think I fixed it. I didn't know about (and thus wasn't using) the "randomize" function.



#59 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:08 AM

Added in the ability to pause the game by pressing the Pause button. I first thought it wasn't working in Virtual Jaguar until I accidentally pressed the P key instead of the O and it worked. So this is incorrect:

vjagsettingswrong.jpg

And also, while I'm at it, I tried to get rid of the ugly black bar at the bottom of the screen. I tried everything and it's still there. I ran another Jaguar game on Virtual Jaguar and it wasn't there, so it must be my game. BUT WHY?

uglyblackbar.png



#60 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • 5,543 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:14 AM

 

And also, while I'm at it, I tried to get rid of the ugly black bar at the bottom of the screen. I tried everything and it's still there. I ran another Jaguar game on Virtual Jaguar and it wasn't there, so it must be my game. BUT WHY?

 

 

Because API !=2.0



#61 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:20 AM

But I'm using Raptor BASIC +.



#62 omf OFFLINE  

omf

    Dragonstomper

  • 780 posts

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:41 AM

But I'm using Raptor BASIC +.

unfortunately ggn has not integrated the raptor api 2 into rb+, from what i hear this possibly may never happen. so im afraid we are stuck with it for the forseeable future :(



#63 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:00 PM

unfortunately ggn has not integrated the raptor api 2 into rb+, from what i hear this possibly may never happen. so im afraid we are stuck with it for the forseeable future :(

So what does this mean?


It has been over 2 years since the last release of the API.  In that time, various updates have been pushed into the API in order to improve the rB+ experience, but these have not been implemented into the API release - until now.



#64 Clint Thompson OFFLINE  

Clint Thompson

    River Patroller

  • 4,372 posts
  • Kiss Reality Goodbye.
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:07 PM

Is it?

 

Hey guys, any pixel artists out there like to work with atari2600land on this?

[now just wait]

 

I'm not a pixel artist but I'm a render bot... I'll see if I can work up something he'll find pleasing to the eye...



#65 VladR OFFLINE  

VladR

    Stargunner

  • 1,505 posts
  • Location:Montana

Posted Fri Aug 31, 2018 3:01 AM

 I'm not a pixel artist but I'm a render bot... I'll see if I can work up something he'll find pleasing to the eye...

You're producing pretty good renders. There's zero reason to believe he'd find them non pleasing :)

 

As long as all the art assets are consistently rendered in same style and color scheme, it's all good.



#66 Clint Thompson OFFLINE  

Clint Thompson

    River Patroller

  • 4,372 posts
  • Kiss Reality Goodbye.
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana

Posted Sat Sep 1, 2018 1:39 PM

Was finishing up some the graphics and had someone else play it and they cracked up. I was going to suggest replacing the poop with lasers but as pointed out, the poop makes it more memorable and is funnier so probably best to stick with that... as strange as that is lol

 

...and a few quotes...

 

"I'd run quick too if I had to poop that much!"

 

:lol:

 

"His poop looks runny. No, like bacon!"

 

"How can someone even poop that much!"

 

"The second wave actually seems easier since the bombs are moving away from the balloon and not directly under it where you have to shoot."



#67 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sat Sep 8, 2018 2:58 PM

I want green text, but no matter what I do, it always is red, even though there is no red anywhere in the font. Do you see any red?

Attached File  F_8x8.bmp   7.62KB   40 downloads

No. So why is it continuing to come up RED?!



#68 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sat Sep 8, 2018 3:50 PM

Figured it out. I had to use Paint Shop Pro to open the partipal.bmp 1x1 image, then reset the red colors in the palette to green.



#69 Trooper Galactus OFFLINE  

Trooper Galactus

    Moonsweeper

  • 374 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:06 PM

I kinda prefer your crappy looking Aardvark to the photoshopped one.  Makes the screen shots look like some kind of Custer's Revenge clone, which is just oh so epic.



#70 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:20 AM

I haven't forgot about this. I'm still working on it. Slowly but surely. I wonder where Clint is, I wondered if it would be okay with him to show a picture of the new game in progress.


Edited by atari2600land, Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:32 AM.


#71 Clint Thompson OFFLINE  

Clint Thompson

    River Patroller

  • 4,372 posts
  • Kiss Reality Goodbye.
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana

Posted Mon Oct 1, 2018 8:06 AM

I haven't forgot about this. I'm still working on it. Slowly but surely. I wonder where Clint is, I wondered if it would be okay with him to show a picture of the new game in progress.

 

I'm still here but the Jaguar and creative time has taken the back burner for these past few weeks. Hopefully will make some time this upcoming weekend to sort the UFO out.

 

By all means feel free to post the in-progress stuff, it's your game :)



#72 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Tue Oct 2, 2018 12:33 AM

Here is a shot from a couple of days ago when I worked on it last. Like Clint mentioned, the UFOs still need some work.

aaronscreenshot20180928.png



#73 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Oct 3, 2018 10:00 PM

OK, there has to be a problem with Virtual Jaguar. I've been trying to make the UFO not have a black border around it. I know for sure even my simple test one I did in Paint did NOT have a black border around it because I didn't draw one, yet there it is. What is the deal?

blackoutline.png



#74 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • 5,543 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Wed Oct 3, 2018 10:07 PM

It is probably 16 bit, and has very dark not quite black pixels. Flood fill the image with yellow or something and I bet they show up.



#75 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,521 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Oct 3, 2018 10:20 PM

My test UFO there is 24 bit.

I had the program count the colors and there are 5 of them. If there was another not quite black color, wouldn't the color count be 6?






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users