IGNORED

Question about editors

Andrew:

I know you have mentioned the Microsoft Developer Suite, which I presume is Visual Studio x, and I know any text editor will suffice. My question is, would you recommend either of the following freeware ASM dev tools (IDE's) for VCS development? Yes, I do realize this may be a "Howitzer to swat a fly" scenario. :)

AsmEdit V4.7

http://asmedit.massmind.org/

RadASM

http://radasm.sonshinesoftware.com/

Both seem very powerful, and perhaps beyond the scope of this lesson plan, so I thought I'd mention them here.

Opinions?

I would recommend you use DASM for 2600 development. The reason I say this is because DASM has become the compiler of the Stella list. If you ever need help it would be easier to send DASM source code for the list to examine.

Dennis:

Understood. I fully intend to compile using DASM. I do not, however, intend to use DASM as an editor... :)

I've been using RadASM and ASMEdit for about 2 years on other efforts and was trying to get a sense if this would be a viable tool for VCS development.

I've been using RadASM and ASMEdit for about 2 years on other efforts and was trying to get a sense if this would be a viable tool for VCS development.

I just looked at those two links, and as far as I can tell, it looks like neither of those IDEs support dasm (well, at least out of the box).

I guess the question is what are you wanting out of these IDEs? Are you looking for project management or are you looking for an editor, or both? If it's just an editor, then you'd probally be fine with them. But if you want project management, then these probally won't work.

Personally, I use make and vim under Linux, but that's just me :) The way I have it setup right now, each .asm file generates a .bin, so it's not very flexible for large projects (what exactly constitutes a large project on the 2600?? :D )

Dennis: