IGNORED

Super Stand Alone System Test shows errors?

xucaen

I ran the system test cart (salt?) And it is showing 14 errors. I'm really not sure what to make of it. Is this normal or should I be concerned? should I start thinking about having components replaced?

I made a video of the tests. This is my first time ever running it so I'm hoping if somebody watches this and they see something out of place maybe they can help me understand it.

Thanks everyone!

I thought the Super SALT required an external diagnostics box hooked up to the SIO and JoyStick ports in order to properly function for some of those tests.

Yeah I have no idea what I'm doing. :D I'm just learning as I go. ;-)

I'm using a new Ultimate cart I just bought and I'm going through a bunch of games. Most work but some don't. I'm playing Dark Chambers and it keeps crashing. Not sure if there something wrong with the computer or if this is the result of a corrupted car image.

I thought the Super SALT required an external diagnostics box hooked up to the SIO and JoyStick ports in order to properly function for some of those tests.

All of the SALT carts require the test box connected to get the full suite of tests with valid results. The individual tests tell you as much on-screen. Those GTIA, POKEY and PIA errors are for sure related to the test box (trigger lines for the controllers, potentiometer/paddle inputs, and the I/O tests for PIA). I don't know what the timers test actually does so I can't comment on that one.

• Like 1

Oh boy... I ran the built in memory test again and let it run for a while. Everything was green, then all of a sudden one of the ROM bars turned red and the last 8 RAM squares went missing. :(

Edit: ran a few more times, got red ROM with 48k green squares.

post-6228-0-38010100-1531598631_thumb.jpg

Yeah, that might explain why Dark Chambers crashed on your Ultimate Cart. After reading your earlier post, I ran it on my UNO Cart without a problem through two entire levels.