IGNORED

Preferred emulators on the Mac

derFunkenstein

Anybody out there emulating consoles on a Mac? What are your preferred emulators? I've got a 2017 iMac 27" (Core i5, Radeon 570 Pro, 16GB RAM) and I'm just starting out with the system.

So far I grabbed Redream for Dreamcast games and has handled the games I want to play great. I even popped $5 for the premium version, and Dreamcast 3D games rendered at the native resolution of 3840x2880 (a 4:3 equivalent of the native res) looks GORGEOUS. Crazy Taxi, Soul Calibur, and Tony Hawk 2 look great. 2D fighters with 3D backgrounds, like Marvel vs Capcom 2 aren't quite so great, but the backgrounds are nice at least. And totally 2D games like Worms World Party are blocky, but that's the nature of the system. I don't mind supporting emulation projects if they're making progress, and this at least looks pretty good.

For just about everything else, there's OpenEmu. Haven't played with it TOO much but it seems to like what I've played on Genesis, Sega CD, etc. Looks like a Mac-specific port of RetroArch with a less controller-friendly UI. I might go regular RetroArch down the road, I dunno.

There's one pretty glaring hole, though, and that's PS2. I have a bunch of PS2 original discs and a USB DVD drive, and I'd love to play those still. PCSX2 is on the system but he official build is years old at this point, which is disappointing. I've found instructions for using WINE but I haven't tried it yet. I'd rather find a native build if one exists. Anybody playing PS2 games on a Mac with any decent results?

Feel free to chime in with anything you think is better than what I've listed above, too.

Edited by derFunkenstein

For consoles its OpenEMU if you like pretty, Retroarch if you like flexibility.

For more modern consoles (Saturn, Jag, PS2, XBox, etc.) there is no good emulation option. There are some poor emulation options, but no good ones.

Dolphin (Wii, GC) runs well on Mac.

• Like 2