Jump to content

Photo

Beta test for the next major release of Stella

cycle-exact sound theading latest stella

34 replies to this topic

#26 israelg OFFLINE  

israelg

    Moonsweeper

  • 345 posts

Posted Yesterday, 6:20 AM

Running OK on my Windows 10 laptop, I will try late also on my Windows 7 Desktop....



#27 israelg OFFLINE  

israelg

    Moonsweeper

  • 345 posts

Posted Yesterday, 1:31 PM

Also running OK on my win 7 desktop...  :thumbsup:



#28 stephena OFFLINE  

stephena

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,263 posts
  • Stella maintainer
  • Location:Newfoundland, Canada

Posted Yesterday, 1:41 PM

By "running OK", do you just mean starting up and running, or have you tested the new sound code with different ROMs?  I guess you would need a real console to tell the difference.

 

While knowing the former is nice, the latter is really what we're looking for.



#29 Trebor OFFLINE  

Trebor

    River Patroller

  • 4,530 posts

Posted Yesterday, 2:20 PM

Here's a helpful list of some noteworthy games and checks for those testing along.  This list is not exhaustive, but a good start point for those looking to assist with trying out the beta development build:

 

-Blueprint = Background Music and Loss of Life Melody
-California Games = Opening Melody
-E.T. = Opening Theme & Ship Arrival/Departure
-Frogger = Opening/Clear Round Theme
-Frogs and Flies = Game Over/Night Creature Sounds
-Halloween = Opening/Myers' Presence Theme
-Journey Escape = Opening/Level Pass Ship Escape Theme
-Masters of the Universe = Opening/Defeat Skeletor Theme
-Ms. Pac-Man = Opening Theme
-Pitfall II = Background Music
-Raiders of the Lost Ark = Opening Theme
-Skate Boardin' = Background Melody
-Sneak 'n Peek = Opening Theme and Found Person Melody
-Summer/Winter Games = Opening Theme
-Up 'n Down = Background Melody
-Vanguard = Invincibility Melody
 
The above all sound absolutely amazing to me in correlation to my 4-switch Woody console.  Spot on dissonance present in Stella, just as it should be, during occurrences paralleling real hardware. 
 
The more ears, the better though.  So, any who are able, please give some of the above a try between real hardware and this Stella beta release.


#30 AW127 OFFLINE  

AW127

    Moonsweeper

  • 318 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Yesterday, 3:07 PM

So, after quite some time in development, Stella 6.0 is ready for its first beta test.  That's right, we're bumping the major version number up one notch.  That should give you an idea of how much has changed with the code.  The changelog is pretty huge, but for now I will only mention the most important features that require testing.

 

 

Stephena, what about the re-implementation of a 50Hz fullscreen-mode for PAL-roms? Or a possibility to change the display-mode (PAL60/PAL/NTSC) of a group of roms, which would be good for PAL60 roms especially that all start in the wrong display-mode innately??? Aka my two suggestions, that i made some time ago? Think they really would make sense.


Edited by AW127, Yesterday, 3:12 PM.


#31 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 23,418 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Yesterday, 3:14 PM

Stephena, what about the re-implementation of a 50Hz fullscreen-mode for PAL-roms? Or a possibility to change the display-mode (PAL60/PAL/NTSC) of a group of roms, which would be good for PAL60 roms especially that all start in the wrong display-mode innately??? Aka my two suggestions, that i made some time ago? Think they really would make sense.

https://github.com/s...ella/issues/285



#32 Arenafoot ONLINE  

Arenafoot

    Stargunner

  • 1,132 posts
  • videogamestores.net
  • Location:Watson, LA

Posted Yesterday, 10:27 PM

works fine on Win7 32bit - but Chopper Command is still cutoff on the right side of the screen (same issue for several versions of Stella) - is there any fix (or will there be)???

:thumbsup:  :thumbsup:



#33 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 23,418 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Today, 12:02 AM

works fine on Win7 32bit - but Chopper Command is still cutoff on the right side of the screen (same issue for several versions of Stella) - is there any fix (or will there be)???

:thumbsup:  :thumbsup:

What do you mean? It sounds like your TV is the problem here.



#34 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,311 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Today, 8:13 AM

Chopper Command is still cutoff on the right side of the screen


Did you mean this, where it looks shifted right due to the black on the left side?
Chopper Command (1982) (Activision).png

If so that's actually common in a number of Activision games:

Boxing (1980) (Activision).png

 

Commando (1988) (Activision).png

 

 

It's because they didn't like to show the black HMOVE bars, as seen in Air-Sea-Battle, whenever the players(sprites) are repositioned for reuse:

Air-Sea Battle (1977) (Atari).png
 

Sometimes they'll hit HMOVE on almost every scanline in order to hide it (on scanlines they couldn't hit it they used the BALL). You can see that by using the Developer Key ALT-COMMA (Linux, Windows) or COMMAND-COMMA (Mac) to turn on Fixed Debug Colors (HMOVE bars are white, and the BALL is blue, in this mode):
Screen Shot 2018-08-20 at 9.04.20 AM.png

Chopper Command (1982) (Activision)_1.png

 

Boxing (1980) (Activision)_1.png

 

Commando (1988) (Activision)_1.png

 

Other times they'll just leave the left & right side black, like in Kaboom!, which also hides them:

Kaboom! (1981) (Activision).png

 

Kaboom! (1981) (Activision)_1.png

 

contrast to Air-Sea-Battle where they only hit HMOVE when they reposition the player:

Air-Sea Battle (1977) (Atari)_1.png



#35 Arenafoot ONLINE  

Arenafoot

    Stargunner

  • 1,132 posts
  • videogamestores.net
  • Location:Watson, LA

Posted Today, 3:48 PM

Did you mean this, where it looks shifted right due to the black on the left side?
attachicon.gifChopper Command (1982) (Activision).png

If so that's actually common in a number of Activision games:

Yes..... Oh i never realized that  :-o , i guess thats the way it supposed to be ;-)

Thanks






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users