Jump to content

Photo

Atari compatible hardware eclaireXL, in mini form.


193 replies to this topic

#26 IndusGT OFFLINE  

IndusGT

    Moonsweeper

  • 403 posts
  • Location:Florida USA

Posted Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:26 AM

2 questions

1) has anyone plugged a black box or mio to one of the bigger versions?

2) any estimate of price so far, or too early? 

Thanks


Edited by IndusGT, Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:27 AM.


#27 foft OFFLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • 799 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:45 PM

1) has anyone plugged a black box or mio to one of the bigger versions?


I personally have a Turbo Freezer and a Sys Check II. They are both working.

Other tested devices:
IDE 2+ testing working by Nir
MIO: On the first board there wasn't room for the connector (3.7mm vs 4.7mm...). Stephen filed it and then tried his. Select + reset brought up the config menu and it was navigable.

Did anyone test anything else?

#28 tane OFFLINE  

tane

    Chopper Commander

  • 118 posts

Posted Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:52 PM

10-pin header is for printer port (or)?

It is pure general purpose IO, for future expansion. So ... nothing yet. For now just handy for debugging. Could use it for connecting an Atari keyboard etc.

 

Is there a way to plug an old XE keyboard with a converter?



#29 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 797 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:40 AM

 

Is there a way to plug an old XE keyboard with a converter?

 

Not as is. It need to implement a small PCB with a simple digital switch from IDT, and to plug it to the expansion connector.



#30 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 4,111 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:42 AM

Nir asked a really good question that I'm also very interested in... would this fit in a 600XL case?  I saw your pic with the scale, so it really looks like it would fit.  The back of the case is going to need some serious surgery one way or another.  I also saw the reply about the XE keyboard, but if this could be put in a 600XL (or even 800XL) case, I would want to attach the Atari keyboard.  IMO, a PC keyboard is good, but a real Atari keyboard would be much better. Plenty of room inside a 600XL case for a hard drive adapter.  Joysticks and SIO cables would have to "snake" out the back, and the only remaining issue I see is the cartridge port. Maybe a flexible cable adapter could be used for the cartridge port (as on the Rev e IDE+2).

 

So, how about attaching an Atari keyboard? Can you make a workable adapter?  And what is the status of an S-video adapter? Alternatively, does anyone have any experience with one of these adapters (or similar)?

 

https://www.ebay.com...eo adapter.TRS0

 

-Larry



#31 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 797 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:18 PM

I not responded in the question of Nir, mainly because I don't have a Atari 600XL available to check it. ;)
Now to fit on a original Atari 8-bit case, it need enough work I think. Anyway, I can provide the exact dimensions if someone want to
check it. :idea:

When I started to design it before a year now, my basic idea was to do it on the smallest possible scale, as to fit in a modern small
 3d printed box. So the original Atari enclosures was out of my plans.
 
 Now about the s-video adapter who is referred here, and if the possibility to become the hardware for the original Atari naked keyboard in XL series,
 the most appropriate to answer is  foft.



#32 foft OFFLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • 799 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:34 AM

For the svideo I think we can either output gtia style and use a circuit like the Atari one (or UAV). Or we could use a dedicated ic such as the adv7179 https://www.mouser.c...7179-586748.pdf.

As for connecting an Atari keyboard. So far I only generated pokey keyboard scan signals and used an xegs keyboard. I guess we could skip the 4051 and just connect the fpga to the matrix directly via the gpio. Ive never tried it but it should work I guess. Will just need a little glue logic in the fpga to do what the 4051 does.

As for plugging it into the 600XL. So take a dead 600XL pcb and wire the existing ports onto the board? Guess that would work, though might need to remove some components. Or wire/glue the ports into their locations?

#33 Frankie OFFLINE  

Frankie

    Moonsweeper

  • 482 posts
  • Location:St. Augustine, FL

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:56 AM

Who's  Eclaire?



#34 foft OFFLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • 799 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:55 AM

Who's  Eclaire?


Do you mean like Candy and Colleen?

#35 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 797 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Sat Aug 18, 2018 3:53 AM

IMG_0482.JPG

 

1. 5 Volt power input
2. Power switch
3. HDMI/DVI video out
4. VGA 31kHz, CGA/SCART 15KHz, Composite B/W video out. (Optional with the use of add-on board, in place No13 on picture.)
5. Stereo audio out
6. 2x USB ports for joysticks, keypads etc.
7. SD card
8. Parallel Board Interface - P.B.I
9. Cartridge port
10. 4x Atari 9pin D-Sub ports
11. Serial I/O  - SIO port
12. JTAG port for firmware updates. Initially needed during the production. Later only if board bricked up with some way.
13. Expansion for optional add-on video DAC board, as indicated in row No4.
14. Expansion general purpose for future add-ons.
15. Intel "Cyclone" FPGA, 5CEBA2 or 5CEBA4 model.
16. 1MB SDRAM which support all the known memory expansions for Atari 8-bit.


Edited by santosp, Sat Aug 18, 2018 3:55 AM.


#36 mytek ONLINE  

mytek

    River Patroller

  • 3,420 posts
  • Location:Santa Rosa, CA

Posted Sat Aug 18, 2018 6:48 AM

Very impressive! What an amazingly efficient layout to cover all the bases, while making for a very small footprint. And such a reduction in the number of components to recreate an A8 with all the bells and whistles to bring it into the modern age.

Now if only someone had a time machine to take a couple of million of these back to 1980 and dump them on the market (FU Commodore and Apple) :).

Edit: Although that would predate VGA or HDMI monitors, or USB keyboards, or for that matter... SD cards. Might have to get a much bigger time machine.

#37 Wrathchild OFFLINE  

Wrathchild

    River Patroller

  • 2,233 posts
  • Location:Reading, UK.

Posted Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:21 AM

Would the FGPA have the ability to incorporate a VBXE core or would that be the purpose of Expansion A and newly purposed expansion board?



#38 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 797 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Sat Aug 18, 2018 11:29 AM

Would the FGPA have the ability to incorporate a VBXE core or would that be the purpose of Expansion A and newly purposed expansion board?

Before Mark answer on this, I must say that the original VBXE developers not interested for something like this.


Edited by santosp, Sat Aug 18, 2018 11:29 AM.


#39 lemiel OFFLINE  

lemiel

    Moonsweeper

  • 280 posts
  • Location:Tychy, Poland

Posted Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:20 PM

Core could be recreated or copyright prevents?

#40 AtariNerd OFFLINE  

AtariNerd

    Stargunner

  • 1,123 posts
  • For Illustrative Purposes Only.

Posted Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:37 PM

I dunno, the 2X, 4X graphic clock modes seem potentially pretty usable and being somewhat familiar, something programmers might be more willing to implement into their code, partly because it has the feel of something possible in the day, both the added capabilities and limitations. I have no idea how that effects player missles, etc, but 16-shade 320 mode sounds nice, though, or even a 9-color 320. Or 320(or 640) 5=color, etc. A lot of games/apps from other platforms become more-easily portable, even a passable CGA/EGA mode from the PC world (with obvious limits, but also enhanced, where possible.)



#41 geoanas OFFLINE  

geoanas

    Space Invader

  • 40 posts
  • Location:Greece

Posted Sun Aug 19, 2018 10:40 AM

Amazing project! Well Done Panos!



#42 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 4,111 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Sun Aug 19, 2018 12:44 PM

What are the known functioning issues at this point?  Surely there are some...

 

-Larry



#43 IndusGT OFFLINE  

IndusGT

    Moonsweeper

  • 403 posts
  • Location:Florida USA

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 11:20 AM

Any news? Realize this is not a pre-order thread, but can't wait till they are available!!



#44 foft OFFLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • 799 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:22 PM

Any news? Realize this is not a pre-order thread, but can't wait till they are available!!


Sure Panos will reply with his news. On my side I'm integrating atx support from Farb, several bugs still to squash but getting there.

#45 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 797 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Thu Aug 23, 2018 1:06 PM

Any news? Realize this is not a pre-order thread, but can't wait till they are available!!

 

Indeed isn't a pre-order thread, because my spare time required for this construction is limited, so the supply of units the same.

For now I am thinking to construct two more devices from this, upgraded with the bigger 5CEBA4 fpga. Using this, I want to follow Mark's line with the previous "two board design" devices. Have been constructed 30 till now if I remember correctly. :idea:

If one more member existed to be interested to buy it except the IndusGT, let me know here so I can get in touch with both with details via p.m.

Thanks Panos.


Edited by santosp, Thu Aug 23, 2018 1:07 PM.


#46 killersquirel OFFLINE  

killersquirel

    Dragonstomper

  • 819 posts

Posted Thu Aug 23, 2018 3:28 PM

This looks awesome. I know this isn't a pre-order thread, but I'm definitely interested in getting one. 



#47 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,943 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:27 PM

recreating chips in fully programmable arrays are not and is not exactly copyright or copyright-able territory... specifically when recreating copyrighted chips and related technologies. You are basically laying out the circuits and devices from the original copyrighted and/or trademarked package. In the world of reverse engineering that intermediary and step afforded some protections. If anyone were to try and enforce such a thing, the original IP owner might do something about it in that case... since someone would be trying to take over that IP by enforcing copyright on something they took in the first place. So long as no one is making such legal claims and not raking in the dough... normally no one cares. Going beyond that gets the big boys all over you.


Edited by _The Doctor__, Thu Aug 23, 2018 4:28 PM.


#48 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 797 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:03 AM

If one more member existed to be interested to buy it except the IndusGT, let me know here so I can get in touch with both with details via p.m.

Thanks Panos.

 

As an info, 1 device will prepared for IndusGT! ;)



#49 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 797 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:53 PM

 

As an info, 1 device will prepared for IndusGT! ;)

 

And a second goes for the Sven.

 

Thank you Guys.


Edited by santosp, Sun Aug 26, 2018 12:53 PM.


#50 ndary OFFLINE  

ndary

    Dragonstomper

  • 525 posts
  • Location:Israel

Posted Sun Aug 26, 2018 4:00 PM

i am also interested






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users