Jump to content

Photo

INTV game roms capability with JZINTV4DROID


23 replies to this topic

#1 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • 200 posts

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 12:56 PM

Just wondering, should these work with JZINTV4DROID?

None of the INTV game roms are working on my phone but all the others work fine.

Thanks

#2 stupus OFFLINE  

stupus

    River Patroller

  • 2,059 posts
  • pixel obcessed yeti
  • Location:Chicago's Suburbia

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 1:02 PM

I believe it needs the roms with an additional settings file with each 1....But I have not used it quite awhile so hopefully Joe can chime in ;)

#3 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 1:17 PM

Thanks.

I take it they'd work on my Inty with my lto flash cart without additional files? I haven't tried them yet.

Edited by Bamse, Mon Jan 7, 2019 1:19 PM.


#4 stupus OFFLINE  

stupus

    River Patroller

  • 2,059 posts
  • pixel obcessed yeti
  • Location:Chicago's Suburbia

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 1:49 PM

I would think they would.

I take it you also added the necessary system bios files too?

#5 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 1:53 PM

I've added the exec and grom and all the others games work, just none of the INTV games.

#6 intvsteve OFFLINE  

intvsteve

    River Patroller

  • 3,294 posts
  • Location:At the keyboard

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 2:28 PM

Do you mean games from INTV Corporation?

 

What ROM format are the games in? .bin (or .int or .itv have also been used), or .rom format?

 

Most of the Mattel games use a standard ROM mapping, which IIRC is assumed if no .cfg file is available.  The INTV Corp games came along later and often require the .cfg file.

 

The UI for the LTO Flash! contains a database that will try to provide a .cfg file if one can't be found with the ROM file and then applies it when preparing the ROM to be copied down to your LTO Flash!.

 

The .ROM format came along later and includes the additional memory mapping and other information embedded into a single file, making it easier to transfer and use.  IIRC it was invented to make the Intellicart easier to implement.

 

Internet sites that have ROMs on them may or may not have this all handled correctly.  If each ROM came in its own .zip file, at least there's a chance that the proper .cfg file is included.  If all you downloaded was a .bin / .itv / .int file without the corresponding .cfg then you're out of luck and need to track down the correct .cfg file.  IIRC the Intellivision Lives / Intellivision Rocks CDs have most of the INTV Corp games likely with the .cfg files.



#7 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 2:35 PM

I see, thanks for the reply.
Yes, I mean the INTV Corp games.
All the Roms are .int files and I don't have the cfg files for the INTV roms unfortunately. At least I know why they don't work now.
Everywhere I've looked always has the game roms in .int format.

So they should work on my Flashcart though even with the cfg files?

#8 ColecoJoe OFFLINE  

ColecoJoe

    Moonsweeper

  • 466 posts
  • Location:Whittier, CA

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 2:46 PM

I see, thanks for the reply.
Yes, I mean the INTV Corp games.
All the Roms are .int files and I don't have the cfg files for the INTV roms unfortunately. At least I know why they don't work now.
Everywhere I've looked always has the game roms in .int format.

So they should work on my Flashcart though even with the cfg files?

 

https://github.com/r...i/Intellivision

 

Scroll down to Memory Map Config files to create your missing cfg's



#9 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 2:49 PM

Great, thanks. Think I can manage that.
Won't need to do that for my Flashcart though right? Just JZINTV and Jzintv4droid?

#10 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 2:58 PM

Perfect, works great. Only tried it on Spike on jzintv4droid so far but working perfectly.
Thanks so much :)

#11 intvsteve OFFLINE  

intvsteve

    River Patroller

  • 3,294 posts
  • Location:At the keyboard

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 3:27 PM

Ah, didn't realize that sheet was public.  Cool!

 

As I mentioned, the UI for LTO Flash! tries to provide the .cfg file if one is missing.

 

Here is what happens in "LUI" when you add a ROM to the cart:

  1. Identify the ROM file format (.rom, .bin, etc.); this is done by examining the data in the file since file names are arbitrary
  2. Compute a checksum of the file; to this point, there are no known collisions of the CRC32 checksums of ROM files, so it's a reasonably reliable way to identify a ROM
  3. If the file format is ".bin" *and* there is a corresponding .cfg file, -- all done! -- prepare it for copying to LTO Flash!
  4. If the file format is ".bin" and there *is not* a corresponding .cfg file, look in a database that maps CRC32 of the .bin to a list of known .cfg files -- basically just like what that spreadsheet does

The UI program ships copies of these "canonical" .cfg files, so when one is missing, the process of preparing the file for use by LTO Flash! creates a scratch copy of the ROM along with the necessary .cfg file and then finishes the job.  These scratch copies are kept around on your computer if you go looking in your .../Documents/LTO Flash/ROMsCache folder.

 

If you run across a .bin-format ROM that doesn't have a .cfg, and the ROM doesn't appear to match anything in the database, the UI will throw up its hands and just guess using the "0" file -- the one most commonly used by the Mattel games.

 

I thought the Imagic games used a non-standard config as well (going from memory) -- but you hadn't run into problems with them? Interesting.

 

In any case -- great that you got these working.  Thanks @ColecoJoe!



#12 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 3:35 PM

Right, I think I understand. Thank you too. I'll give the LTO a try when I'm home and see if the INTV Corp games work. Spiker I've just learned uses number 2.
So next question and I'm sorry if you've already answered but I'm learning as I go here, If the LTO can't pick the right cfg from its own memory, can I add it to the cart?

#13 ColecoJoe OFFLINE  

ColecoJoe

    Moonsweeper

  • 466 posts
  • Location:Whittier, CA

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 3:43 PM



  1. If the file format is ".bin" and there *is not* a corresponding .cfg file, look in a database that maps CRC32 of the .bin to a list of known .cfg files -- basically just like what that spreadsheet does

 

 

 

 

 

That's awesome, I didn't know it did that!



#14 ColecoJoe OFFLINE  

ColecoJoe

    Moonsweeper

  • 466 posts
  • Location:Whittier, CA

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 3:46 PM

Not to hijack the thread but has anybody gotten jzintv4droid to work on a Invidia Shield?



#15 intvsteve OFFLINE  

intvsteve

    River Patroller

  • 3,294 posts
  • Location:At the keyboard

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 4:50 PM

Right, I think I understand. Thank you too. I'll give the LTO a try when I'm home and see if the INTV Corp games work. Spiker I've just learned uses number 2.
So next question and I'm sorry if you've already answered but I'm learning as I go here, If the LTO can't pick the right cfg from its own memory, can I add it to the cart?

 

The latest versions of the LTO Flash! UI Software also include a version of jzintv -- though not the latest any more!  You can try to run the game in jzintv by right clicking on it and choosing 'play in jzintv'.  You will need to tell the UI where your EXEC, GROM, and ECS files are.

 

I did a quick experiment and verified that merely adding ROMs to the ROM list (right hand side) does NOT automagically fetch any missing .cfg files.  This only happens in the "ROMsCache" directory I mentioned above.  The thinking behind this is relatively simple:

  • ROMs may be located on devices that are read-only (e.g. a CD-ROM or network share with read-only access)
  • "Don't mess with my stuff"

The ROMsCache is a "scratch" area as mentioned earlier, so it's OK to do things like this that are considered "disposable".  I suppose one could consider a feature request to "recover missing .cfg files for known ROMs".



#16 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 5:12 PM

I've just tried it and all the INTV corp games work perfectly on the lto cart without adding the cfg files.
Amazing bit of kit that :)

#17 intvsteve OFFLINE  

intvsteve

    River Patroller

  • 3,294 posts
  • Location:At the keyboard

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 8:46 PM

I've just tried it and all the INTV corp games work perfectly on the lto cart without adding the cfg files.
Amazing bit of kit that :)

Hehe... Yeah, it's a sweet bit of hardware.  I'm a little biased - especially regarding the UI. ;)

 

I did verify in the UI sources the behavior I described.  If you go digging around in that directory I mentioned, you will find .cfg files for all those ROMs.  They are probably the same as the ones from the site ColecoJoe mentioned.



#18 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,689 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Mon Jan 7, 2019 9:37 PM

I don't think wc baseball, thin ice, thunder castle, mountain madness, slap shot, learning fun i/ii need cfg files.

Edit:
You'd also need cfg file for all the atarisoft cartridges, congo bongo, and a few from imagic.

Edited by mr_me, Mon Jan 7, 2019 9:45 PM.


#19 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 2:44 AM

Yeah, found that out last night. I've sorted Congo and there was one Imagic game but I can't remember which one it is. I'll go through them all.
Thanks all again. Very helpful :)

#20 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 3,689 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 3:31 AM

Demon attack, atlantis, microsurgeon, beauty and the besst need cfg files.

#21 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 3:45 AM

Ah yes, it was beauty and the beast I tried that wouldn't work. I'll sort them all out.
Thanks :)

#22 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 6:19 AM

Have another question although on a different topic. I've read that the lto has memory for saving highscores. How do I access this if it does?

#23 carlsson ONLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 8,301 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 7:09 AM

I could be wrong, but would assume that only applies to games programmed to do so, i.e. modern homebrews that are aware of the LTO.



#24 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 200 posts

Posted Tue Jan 8, 2019 7:26 AM

I see. That would make sense. I also read its possible for saved states with the lto. Again though, this could be just for games that were soded to allow it.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users