Jump to content

Photo

Enabling music & sound FX mixing within Jaguar Doom source.


52 replies to this topic

#26 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,757 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:49 AM

Can't get this to compile, but could someone try changing this:

 

ALT_SAMPLE_P .equr r21

 

in dspbase.gas

 

to

 

ALT_SAMPLE_P .equr r12

 

and building a ROM with music?

 

[EDIT] NM it didn't work



#27 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,757 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:27 AM

Not got the music working, but the status bar being offset was pissing me off.  Replace this file to fix that :)

 

 

Attached Files



#28 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,757 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:08 AM

I'm just going to leave this here for now :)

 

 

Get to level 2, fire twice, then use the 'press 3' that BeefMan added and, well, you can hear the rest ;)



#29 Saturn OFFLINE  

Saturn

    River Patroller

  • 3,620 posts
  • Pillar of the Jaguar Community
  • Location:TX

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:39 AM

Good Lord :-o

 

Thanks for the stbar fix!



#30 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,757 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:51 AM

Have some E1M1 iconic music! Jagwarrrrr style!

 



#31 Saturn OFFLINE  

Saturn

    River Patroller

  • 3,620 posts
  • Pillar of the Jaguar Community
  • Location:TX

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:06 AM

That's absolutely incredible..



#32 BeefMan OFFLINE  

BeefMan

    Chopper Commander

  • 100 posts

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:21 AM

This is awesome!  You flipping did the impossible!



#33 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,757 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:06 AM

Adding the music slightly dropped the frame rate, which throws the demos out LOL

 



#34 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    River Patroller

  • 4,539 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:23 AM

Can we do a small release of this game WITH the music PLZ?  This is incredible!!   I'm sure John Romero would sign off on it if needed :) 



#35 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,757 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:38 AM

Can we do a small release of this game WITH the music PLZ?  This is incredible!!   I'm sure John Romero would sign off on it if needed :)

 

Isn't it with Bethesda now?  Want to get 100% fixed network code in here, already have the straff stuff.



#36 BeefMan OFFLINE  

BeefMan

    Chopper Commander

  • 100 posts

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:58 AM

 

Isn't it with Bethesda now?  Want to get 100% fixed network code in here, already have the straff stuff.

 

 

He did this recently, not sure how the licensing worked.

 

https://www.romerogames.ie/sigil



#37 Austin OFFLINE  

Austin

    Quadrunner

  • 12,980 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:31 AM

Isn't it with Bethesda now?


Yep, 100%.

#38 Clint Thompson OFFLINE  

Clint Thompson

    River Patroller

  • 4,424 posts
  • Kiss Reality Goodbye.
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:50 AM

Welcome to id Software, you're hired!



#39 alucardX OFFLINE  

alucardX

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts
  • Location:Wyoming

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:58 AM

 

 

He did this recently, not sure how the licensing worked.

 

https://www.romerogames.ie/sigil

So he created data that runs on the doom engine. The doom source is under GPL but the art and sound assets are not. Of course the doom name is still property of id/Bethesda (idthesda?), so if you wanted to release a full doom game, it would have to be with their consent.

 

One could take this modified Jag source that CJ has done and create all new levels, music and graphics and create a completely new game from it though. Maybe change the sprites of the imps and marines to strange mutant plumbers in a hedgehog costume or a bandicoot costume. Could be fun.



#40 omf OFFLINE  

omf

    Dragonstomper

  • 793 posts

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:41 PM

So he created data that runs on the doom engine. The doom source is under GPL but the art and sound assets are not. Of course the doom name is still property of id/Bethesda (idthesda?), so if you wanted to release a full doom game, it would have to be with their consent.

 

One could take this modified Jag source that CJ has done and create all new levels, music and graphics and create a completely new game from it though. Maybe change the sprites of the imps and marines to strange mutant plumbers in a hedgehog costume or a bandicoot costume. Could be fun.

 

you mean what belboz and vimaster were working on years ago before they jumped ship?



#41 alucardX OFFLINE  

alucardX

    Space Invader

  • 28 posts
  • Location:Wyoming

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:13 PM

Yes, I think that sound like what they were working on.



#42 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,645 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:39 PM

I have no idea why Belboz bailed.

He just got moody and split.

#43 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,757 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:12 PM

I have no idea why Belboz bailed.

He just got moody and split.

 

Pretty sure he overdosed on Hawken Radiation.



#44 BeefMan OFFLINE  

BeefMan

    Chopper Commander

  • 100 posts

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:31 PM

Not got the music working, but the status bar being offset was pissing me off.  Replace this file to fix that :)

 

 

 

Was able to test the status bar fix, works great, thank you!



#45 Saturn OFFLINE  

Saturn

    River Patroller

  • 3,620 posts
  • Pillar of the Jaguar Community
  • Location:TX

Posted Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:19 PM

Can't wait to hack the status bar fix into the roms I made. Besides the demos being out of whack, these will be perfect!

 

(Oh, and I mean the demos out of whack bc maps 3 & 6 that I hacked in don't match up to the action on screen :lol: )



#46 Knud ONLINE  

Knud

    Space Invader

  • 24 posts

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 2:01 AM

Nice work, the music is a big part of this game. 



#47 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,757 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 4:30 AM

So, here's a bit of a write up:

 

The status panel is pretty simple to fix - the game rebuilds the object list each frame on the GPU, simple add an X offset to the low word of the last phrase for both the status panel and the overlay. Job done.

 

Now, the music....  oh boy here we go ;)

 

So, DOOM has a ring buffer for the sample playback (pretty common thing)

 

The problem is that the audio system is designed to have either music OR sfx rendering into this buffer.  What I did was have both routines read the previous content of the buffer, ADD the new sample, then normalise again before writing it back.  This works... HOWEVER... the sample appear to stutter a bit (the music is rock solid)

  • I've lowered the replay frequency and it still stutters, so this is not down to bandwidth at the playback phase. 
  • I have reduced the number of SFX channels to 2, and it still stutters, so its not down to sample rendering.
  • I have had it render both SFX and music, and only send SFX to the DACs - this works
  • I have had it render both SFX and music, and only send MUS to the DACs - this also works

So, the issue is clearly in the way I'm mixing the samples here, but the audio code is, frankly, a mess.  I've got a good handle on what its doing though so I'll keep playing with it between other things, but have to walk away from this for a while because it's frustratingly almost working, and also frustratingly preventing me working on thrusty and some other stuff.  We've waited 20 years, I think we'll be ok for a bit longer. 

 

I'm also not convinced this is the final source, because sometimes a level will just end randomly and go to the next. Anyone else seen this with this source?  I'm also investigating ripping this crap out and putting the U235SE in, which should give a significant frame rate boost.  Are the ExMx midi files available as MODules? If not, maybe a CD audio track could be mixed in.

 

I'm not dropping this, but I am putting it on the back burner for a while so I can get to some other stuff (reBOOTed, Strike) that has to be done.

 

Good progress this week, though :)



#48 BeefMan OFFLINE  

BeefMan

    Chopper Commander

  • 100 posts

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:04 AM

Excellent progress indeed, thanks for the write up!

 

My apologies, I completely forgot I also discovered the levels will sometimes randomly end after enabling the FX+music mixing.  I can confirm this doesn't happen with just building the original code or even when building with strafe support.  I'll go back and see if I can build a stable version with mixing.

 

I really appreciate you taking the time to take a look at this!  Really looking forward to all the projects you have in the pipeline, thrusty especially!


Edited by BeefMan, Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:05 AM.


#49 Austin OFFLINE  

Austin

    Quadrunner

  • 12,980 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 8:04 AM

Pretty sure he overdosed on Hawken Radiation™.

 
Needed an extra bit on that for maximum humor. :thumbsup:



#50 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,545 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:41 AM

Awesome work CJ (and everyone involved in this).  Compelling bit from your writeup - "I'm also investigating ripping this crap out and putting the U235SE in, which should give a significant frame rate boost."  That would be awesome.

 

All we need now is someone to count the framerate on your newly posted Youtube videos, so we can get an idea of how much the music slowed down the gameplay.  If you get the framerate boosted enough, do you there there is enough NumberWang™ potential in the Jag to boost the resolution to 1200*240?  :grin:






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users