Jump to content

Photo

LiteDOS 2.0


54 replies to this topic

#1 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:32 AM

Just a small note here on AA.

 

LiteDOS 2.0 is ready for usage / testing.

Mayor parts have been rewritten.

Mostly to speed up DUP and to increase compatibility.

 

http://www.mr-atari.....Atari/LiteDOS/

The only thing you need to format/init/update disks or partitions is the LiteINIT.XEX file.

 

(Atari OS with build-in LiteDOS included)

 

Grtz,

Sijmen.

 

>>

LiteDOS 2.0: Adding full DD-read and DD-write support... Optimizing code...
Completely rewritten the build-in DUP, bypassing CIO, resulting in higher IO-speeds.
Completely rewritten the DIR output format to "Atari standards".
Removed the limitation of cassette usage.
 
! Turbo-BASIC and it tools now work !
(As do other programs that rely on the correct DIR output format)

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • LiteDOS 2 basic.png


#2 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • 1,311 posts

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:36 AM

Great DOS which I intend to use for my future disk projects.

 

Thank you!



#3 larryleffaovell OFFLINE  

larryleffaovell

    Star Raider

  • 54 posts
  • still living
  • Location:San Junipero/EU/Earth

Posted Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:39 AM

LiteDOS 2.0 is ready for usage / testing.

Mayor parts have been rewritten.

Mostly to speed up DUP and to increase compatibility.

 

 

icon_thumbsup.gif  Fantastic work! Many thanks for your work and for sharing. Groeten en gejuich!



#4 Kyle22 ONLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,007 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:58 PM

Just a small note here on AA.

 

LiteDOS 2.0 is ready for usage / testing.

Mayor parts have been rewritten.

Mostly to speed up DUP and to increase compatibility.

 

http://www.mr-atari.....Atari/LiteDOS/

The only thing you need to format/init/update disks or partitions is the LiteINIT.XEX file.

 

(Atari OS with build-in LiteDOS included)

 

Grtz,

Sijmen.

 

>>

LiteDOS 2.0: Adding full DD-read and DD-write support... Optimizing code...
Completely rewritten the build-in DUP, bypassing CIO, resulting in higher IO-speeds.
Completely rewritten the DIR output format to "Atari standards".
Removed the limitation of cassette usage.
 
! Turbo-BASIC and it tools now work !
(As do other programs that rely on the correct DIR output format)

 

 

Is there any chance of an SDFS version of this?



#5 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 1:17 AM

Hmmm, uh, SDFS ???



#6 baktra OFFLINE  

baktra

    Dragonstomper

  • 633 posts
  • Location:Czech republic

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:32 AM

 

Is there any chance of an SDFS version of this?

 

SpartaDOS File System?

Perhaps already existing BW-DOS - Its MEMLO is $1EE4. That is not bad for something that support file system as complex as SpartaDOS. I guess it wouldn't be enough.



#7 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 167 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:08 PM

Can't get this to work properly... on boot i get the inversed '1' and enter gives an error. Can't list directories with the D command, error. D2 shows contents of disk 2, but shows garbled rubbish at the end. Have to boot several times to get something that works. It does boot FAST!!!! After some bugfixes this might be very interesting :)



#8 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 2:12 AM

Can't get this to work properly... on boot i get the inversed '1' and enter gives an error. Can't list directories with the D command, error. D2 shows contents of disk 2, but shows garbled rubbish at the end. Have to boot several times to get something that works. It does boot FAST!!!! After some bugfixes this might be very interesting :)

 

Did you download 2.01 ?

If you did, tell me when you are running / emulating, so I can investigate.

 

I have 5 bytes to spare at the moment, so no room to implement extra complicated things.

LiteDOS will not exceed $700-$FFF usage.....

 

Booting is only 15 sectors, so yeah, that is fast.

Try an 400/800 that is super fast :-)

 

See here for some tech-info:

http://atariage.com/...-dos/?p=4208185

http://atariage.com/...-dos/?p=4210658

 

Grtz,

Sijmen.


Edited by mr-atari, Fri Feb 1, 2019 2:13 AM.


#9 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 11,209 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 3:56 AM

why is it faster booting on 800?



#10 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 167 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 8:01 AM

Yes, it is 2.01. If i boot with OPTION pressed i get the title screen, with the reversed 1. See pic. No cursor, just '1'.

IMG_2859.jpg

 

If you press enter, you get an error. I've pressed enter 3 times. 

IMG_2861.jpg

 

Then, if you press 'D' you don't get the listing of disk1 as the documentation suggests, just the free sectors. 

Same for D1 and D1*.*. No content, just the nr of free sectors.

IMG_2862.jpg

 

If you press D2*.* you DO get the contents of disk2, but... it gets garbled and shows rubbish at the end. 

IMG_2863.jpg

 

If i boot with BASIC, i get the litedos 2.01 title screen and the READY prompt. Enter DOS, and exactly the same effect as above from there.

Machine is a baremetal 64K 600XL.


Edited by jowi, Fri Feb 1, 2019 8:07 AM.


#11 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,718 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 8:22 AM

but what disk drive are you using?



#12 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 167 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 8:43 AM

I'm using AspeQt /w SIO2USB.

 

Tried the same using Altirra, exactly the same effect.


Edited by jowi, Fri Feb 1, 2019 8:54 AM.


#13 dmsc ONLINE  

dmsc

    Dragonstomper

  • 508 posts
  • Location:Viņa del Mar, Chile

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 9:31 AM

Hi!
 

Yes, it is 2.01. If i boot with OPTION pressed i get the title screen, with the reversed 1. See pic. No cursor, just '1'.
attachicon.gifIMG_2859.jpg


That is ok. It is the prompt saying to you that it is using drive #1.
 

If you press enter, you get an error. I've pressed enter 3 times. 
attachicon.gifIMG_2861.jpg


Ok, you did not type any commands, so it replied with error.
 

Then, if you press 'D' you don't get the listing of disk1 as the documentation suggests, just the free sectors. 
Same for D1 and D1*.*. No content, just the nr of free sectors.
attachicon.gifIMG_2862.jpg


Ok, because there are no files on that disk. So, you don't see anything, only the free sectors.
 

If you press D2*.* you DO get the contents of disk2, but... it gets garbled and shows rubbish at the end. 
attachicon.gifIMG_2863.jpg


This is because your disk in D2 is not a LiteDOS disk, so it reads the files but show to you no free sectors and the hearts. Yo can't write to that disk, but you can read files from it.

To copy a file from D2 to D1, just after typing "D2" move the cursor over the file (for example, over "TEST1 SRC" and write over the blanks "C1", so it will read "C1TEST1 SRC 001" and press ENTER. Now, if you go to a blank line and type "D1" you will see your file.

#14 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 167 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 9:41 AM

Ok, i understand. I find the reverse 1 as prompt confusing, also the fact an enter throws an error is counter-intuitive. An actual bad command should throw an error, not an empty return. 

I understand litedos could read dos 2.0/2.5 floppies? So i don't understand the display of hearts etc? Gives the impression it can't read anything/locks up and just ends in showing garbage.



#15 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 1:24 AM

Ok, i understand. I find the reverse 1 as prompt confusing, also the fact an enter throws an error is counter-intuitive. An actual bad command should throw an error, not an empty return. 

I understand litedos could read dos 2.0/2.5 floppies? So i don't understand the display of hearts etc? Gives the impression it can't read anything/locks up and just ends in showing garbage.

The "one" is to see on what drive you are. typing D, just a helping hand.

In the previous versions, you just had a prompt, not knowing what default drive you are on.

When you have done D2, it changes to "two".

 

The freesectors message is not on a 2.0/2.5 disk (as it is on LiteDOS, to save RAM), so it sends out zeros/hearts.

I have no spare room to change this, so for now it stays this way.

Its merely a aesthetic bug, but the message must be shown, else turbo-basic compiler will refuse to work....

 

Removing <return> as error, I can do.

 

Grtz,

Sijmen.


Edited by mr-atari, Sat Feb 2, 2019 1:25 AM.


#16 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 1:31 AM

why is it faster booting on 800?

 

The 400/800 does no device-polling, that saves you an extra 3 seconds.



#17 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 3:54 AM

Ok, i understand. I find the reverse 1 as prompt confusing, also the fact an enter throws an error is counter-intuitive. An actual bad command should throw an error, not an empty return. 

I understand litedos could read dos 2.0/2.5 floppies? So i don't understand the display of hearts etc? Gives the impression it can't read anything/locks up and just ends in showing garbage.

 

I removed the hearts after the 000, zero file-space.

 

Pressing <return> now does the same as D, sending out DIR to the screen of the default drive.

 

Better?

 

Still 7 bytes free ;-)

Attached Thumbnails

  • Naamloos.png


#18 jowi OFFLINE  

jowi

    Chopper Commander

  • 167 posts
  • Location:Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 4:02 AM

This looks better :) don't get me wrong, it is your product ;) and i understand space is limited.



#19 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,811 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2019 9:15 PM

 

I removed the hearts after the 000, zero file-space.

 

Pressing <return> now does the same as D, sending out DIR to the screen of the default drive.

 

Better?

 

Still 7 bytes free ;-)

Are you going to make this fix available to us users.  I have checked the website but it still only has the 2.01 ..


Edited by rdea6, Thu Feb 7, 2019 9:15 PM.


#20 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Fri Feb 8, 2019 1:30 AM

Yes, In version 2.02

 

But I am out of space, so I need to re-think some routines or support.

Here is the current change-log, so you can prepare ;-)

 

Most likely I have it with me to Maarssen the 16th to show LiteDOS and PLATO on the Atari-Invasion.

 

Grtz,

Sijmen.

 

LiteDOS 2.0 © Mr.Atari 2019

 
Current version is 2.02, changes made to version 2.00
 
Fix:
Erase does not work on startup, ID-#2 is not set before any Dx command...
TurboBasic (others?) problems when D: is not Handler-ID $0F...
Problems on non-atari BIOS, A<>0 on return of SIOV...
ATARIDOS compatibility on SD,MD,DD diskettes.
 
Added/Changed:
Copy from/to the same drive, will move (defrag) the file to lower free sectors.
Better error-handling on write-errors.
Filename now has bit-1, to mark the file as "DOS2"-type.
File-ID added on disks with less then 1024 sectors (10bit sector-link), for ATARIDOS compatibility.
8% more file-space on Medium Density disk: 10bit sector-link, LiteDOS is booted from sectors 1024-1037.
Removed garbage output on Directory of non LiteDOS disks
 
Optimized:
Calculation of FILE-ID_MASK (saving 2 bytes)
Close on write re-using X (saves 2 bytes)
Changed "FreeSectors" to " FreeSectors" (saving 3 bytes)
Removed uncalled routine Check_VTOC in Seach_Dir (saving 4 bytes)
 
Free bytes:
-18, programm too large
 
Wish-list:
Instead of Error-17, return now performs DIR on the default-drive...


#21 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:13 AM

More testing before the 2.02 release...

 

Dos 2/2.5/Clones now can read files from LiteDOS disks or partitions with less the 1024 sectors.

MyDOS/clones can read files from larger disks/partitions using bit-2 of the filestatus.

 

I tested SDX 4.48 were I hacked/patched the test for the "Directory Type" accepting the negative values used in LiteDOS.

Now I can see the directory and load files.

Without this patch/hack, I get "148 Unknown file system"

 

So, it's up to SDX to support LiteDOS, read_only would be nice.

 

Back to coding, next release hopefully before next weekend.

 

Grtz,

Sijmen.



#22 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:31 AM

New version 2.02 (18-feb-2019) online.

 

Files are saved conform DOS 2/2.5 and/or MyDOS or clones.

Seems to work at my place.

 

Tested with:

SDX 4.49c/hacked to pass negative "Directory Type" as DOS 2.0 style.

MyDOS 4.53/4

DOS 2.5

 

Removed a bug that was present since day 1, displayed file-size was incorrect when >256.

Spotted another bug present since day 1, RENAME leaves garbage in the directory-sector, 8th file

I have that fixed in the next release.

 

Init of DD disks/partitions now create a boot-able system.

 

Turbo-BASIC with 38.5k Free memory included, compiled at $1000.

 

Homepage updated, SIO2WiFi moved to a separate page.

 

Thanks for the report/feedback.

:-)



#23 rdea6 OFFLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,811 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Sat Feb 23, 2019 8:25 AM

I created a MyDos 30960 sector atr and then copy pasted the LITEDOS boot sectors to this Koapics.atr then used and emulator to create folders A to Z and copied D:A>*,2:A>*  until I got to Z>  then copied over working files for reading the KOALA pictures.  The only basic file that will work is KOALITE.BAS all the com files should work okay.

 

Attached File  KOAPICS.ATR   3.78MB   31 downloads

 

This ATR is not the best because the LITEINIT.XEX doesn't like to do MyDos files.

 

 



#24 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Sun Feb 24, 2019 12:52 PM

Hmm, ok, not a good idea to make a non litedos, litedos this way.
Better use liteinit, create a 32k sector disk and use the C copy function to copy files from non litedos to litedos.
That way the disk is usable for all.

Beside that, well done. :-)

#25 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 583 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Tue Feb 26, 2019 3:09 AM

Version 2.03 now online.

 

http://www.mr-atari.....Atari/LiteDOS/

 

8% more file-space on Medium Density disk, LiteDOS is booted from sectors 1,1024-1037.

 

Abuse/miss-usage of the update function fixed.

RENAME leaves garbage in the directory on the 8th file-name, fixed.

 

DUP:

<Return> on a occupied line = "load file"
<Return> on a empty line = "dir"

 

Many routines optimized to squeeze this new code into RAM below $1000.

5 bytes left, I don't expect that more optimizing will yield more room....

 

Enjoy.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users