Jump to content

Photo

Super Pro Astrosmash


36 replies to this topic

#1 intvdave OFFLINE  

intvdave

    Dragonstomper

  • 759 posts

Posted Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:53 PM

As we continue celebrating 15+ years of Intelligentvision. Here is another gift.

 

I LOVED Astrosmash but having to start back at zero was painful. I also wished that auto-fire was on by default. My prayers were answered. Maybe some of yours also with this version. I hope you enjoy this version. I am all ears if you have other suggestions to make.

 

Attached File  astrosmash.rom   16.06KB   121 downloads



#2 JasonlikesINTV OFFLINE  

JasonlikesINTV

    Quadrunner

  • 9,579 posts
  • Location:Midwest

Posted Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:42 PM

Christmas in January!? Hmm, I never thought of improving Astrosmash other than figuring out some way to avoid 2-3 hour sessions.

Actually, IIRC only two shots can be on the screen at a time. Autofire spaces then out evenly, but my technique is to fire a double pulse (two in quick succession). Downside is that it's thumb torture. How hard would it be to offer two options for Auto. One evenly spaced and one set to launch double shots, so to speak?

#3 intvdave OFFLINE  

intvdave

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 759 posts

Posted Sun Jan 27, 2019 11:10 PM

I believe you can still do a double shot while in auto fire. If auto fire was set to do a double shot, you may have less control.



#4 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,805 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:32 AM

I always wanted the screen background to stay black vs. changing color.  Black background is much easier on the eyes.



#5 IMBerzerk OFFLINE  

IMBerzerk

    Moonsweeper

  • 256 posts
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:39 AM

Sa-weet!  Great options... thanks for this one! 

 

I agree on the background... especially the Cyan... wow...  maybe just have the (x2, x4, x8) etc change color?



#6 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts

Posted Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:27 PM

I like the colour changes except for cyan. It's like running your fingernails down a blackboard but for eyes.

The only thing I'd really have changed is the amount of lives you can gain in the game. It's why it goes on so long. It should max out at 6. I think Demon attack does that. Or is it Qbert?

Edited by Bamse, Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:29 PM.


#7 intvdave OFFLINE  

intvdave

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 759 posts

Posted Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:36 PM

The background stays black. At zero points, game starts at 3x. When starting at zero, the game speed ramps up a bit quicker.

 

I may put the limited lives in there but I doubt many would want this version. If you want the game to go quckly, start off at 750,000 points. That is one level below the hardest which is 1,000,000.

 

Attached File  astrosmash.rom   16.06KB   55 downloads


Edited by intvdave, Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:36 PM.


#8 blainelocklair ONLINE  

blainelocklair

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Summerville, SC

Posted Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:46 PM

Thank you for making this!



#9 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts

Posted Tue Jan 29, 2019 3:38 AM

I meant if the game had always had a limit on lives. You're right, I don't think many would want to change it now.

Thanks for the rom. I'm putting it on my LTO now :)

#10 Bamse OFFLINE  

Bamse

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts

Posted Tue Jan 29, 2019 4:31 AM

This is great. I love Astrosmash but never play it as can't face a 4-5 hours game. This solves that problem. Thanks again :)



#11 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,805 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Tue Jan 29, 2019 8:37 PM

Thank you David!



#12 wolfy62 OFFLINE  

wolfy62

    River Patroller

  • 3,253 posts
  • Location:Simi Valley, CA

Posted Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:09 PM

Thanks David,this is awesome!😃

#13 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • 1,133 posts
  • Intellivision / Apple II
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:52 PM

Thanks David!  Good to see you hacking games again.



#14 Rev ONLINE  

Rev

    IntellivisionRevolution

  • 16,360 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:06 PM

I think of it as improving. ;)



#15 Byte Knight OFFLINE  

Byte Knight

    Stargunner

  • 1,133 posts
  • Intellivision / Apple II
  • Location:Waconia, MN

Posted Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:08 PM

I think of it as improving. ;)

 

Yes, "upgrading" is probably a better description of what he does to games.



#16 blainelocklair ONLINE  

blainelocklair

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Summerville, SC

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 10:36 AM

This is a really neat version of the game. A fine complement to the original. It does indeed get harder quicker starting at zero. Tried starting at 990,000 just for fun. Wipeout!

 

Thanks for making this. Very cool and much appreciated.

 

Blaine



#17 SiLic0ne t0aD OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD

    River Patroller

  • 2,398 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:05 PM

Thanks, Intvdave! :)

#18 Oscar G. OFFLINE  

Oscar G.

    Stargunner

  • 1,355 posts
  • Intellinaut
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 2:00 PM

Thank you very much Dave! Your updates are very much appreciated. Cheers.



#19 tacrec OFFLINE  

tacrec

    Stargunner

  • 1,559 posts

Posted Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:56 PM

I guess I'm in the minority of liking the cyan level.  All black is too boring for me, I loved the changing of the colors.

 

I always had on auto fire and used the buttons when a precise shot was needed.


Edited by tacrec, Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:56 PM.


#20 Black_Tiger OFFLINE  

Black_Tiger

    Moonsweeper

  • 474 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, BC

Posted Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:42 PM

I guess I'm in the minority of liking the cyan level.  All black is too boring for me, I loved the changing of the colors.

 

I always had on auto fire and used the buttons when a precise shot was needed.

Bitd I always wanted more background colors, as they felt like stages and were the measure in my family of how far you made it.



#21 intvdave OFFLINE  

intvdave

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 759 posts

Posted Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:11 AM

Bitd I always wanted more background colors, as they felt like stages and were the measure in my family of how far you made it.

 

Would you play the game today if it had more colors? I went through the 16 colors. Not all work like white but many do.



#22 Black_Tiger OFFLINE  

Black_Tiger

    Moonsweeper

  • 474 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, BC

Posted Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:11 AM

Would you play the game today if it had more colors? I went through the 16 colors. Not all work like white but many do.

Seriously, if there were more stage colors alone, I'd fire up even an otherwise vanilla version of the game on my LTO and do my best to reach them. :D

The only challenge I have keeping me from long play sessions is a 2 month old baby. If it's possible to add a pause feature, if there isn't already one (I haven't tried Super Pro Astrosmash yet), that would be ideal. Otherwise I'd only make it one hour tops before having to quit. :P

#23 Lathe26 OFFLINE  

Lathe26

    River Patroller

  • 3,820 posts

Posted Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:43 AM

Seriously, if there were more stage colors alone, I'd fire up even an otherwise vanilla version of the game on my LTO and do my best to reach them. :D

The only challenge I have keeping me from long play sessions is a 2 month old baby. If it's possible to add a pause feature, if there isn't already one (I haven't tried Super Pro Astrosmash yet), that would be ideal. Otherwise I'd only make it one hour tops before having to quit. :P

 

Try pressing 1+9 at the same time.  This will pause most (not all) Intellivision games.  Hopefully that still works in Super Pro Astrosmash.



#24 Black_Tiger OFFLINE  

Black_Tiger

    Moonsweeper

  • 474 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, BC

Posted Tue Feb 12, 2019 8:53 PM

Try pressing 1+9 at the same time.  This will pause most (not all) Intellivision games.  Hopefully that still works in Super Pro Astrosmash.


Thanks a lot, I'll keep it mind for Intellivision gaming in general. :)

#25 SiLic0ne t0aD OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD

    River Patroller

  • 2,398 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:54 PM

I played both hacks today and I like them a lot.. Definitely an improvement! It's nice to speed up the process, since we all know this game can take a long time to progress through. ;)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users