Jump to content

Photo

saving game states to disk


15 replies to this topic

#1 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • 807 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 6:05 PM

I am playing strange odyssey and need to save my game to disk.  It keeps saying no such device.  How do I save game to disk?



#2 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,506 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 8:15 PM

In TI Basic or XB:

 

Type: SAVE DSK1.NAME 

 

This would save to disk 1 the program NAME



#3 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 807 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 9:57 PM

my grandfather and uncle had TI994a's but only cassette players to save programs.   TI botched the disk drives by requiring people to buy a big expensive system box to hold the drive and the drive itself.



#4 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 807 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:19 PM

The game won't let me save the state.  It says file not found or no such device.



#5 HOME AUTOMATION ONLINE  

HOME AUTOMATION

    Moonsweeper

  • 314 posts
  • Location:"trapped in interspace"

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:23 PM

In TI Basic or XB:

 

Type: SAVE DSK1.NAME 

 

This would save to disk 1 the program NAME

Type: SAVE DSK1.NAME

;)



#6 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,506 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:49 PM

Type: SAVE DSK1.NAME

;)

This would error out with 

TI BASIC * INCORRECT STATEMENT *

XB * SYNTAX ERROR *



#7 HOME AUTOMATION ONLINE  

HOME AUTOMATION

    Moonsweeper

  • 314 posts
  • Location:"trapped in interspace"

Posted Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:55 PM

I'm thinking, Strange Odyssey runs on the Adventure MODULE... "SAV GAM" Where is the database?"DEVICE NAME".


Edited by HOME AUTOMATION, Sun Feb 3, 2019 10:55 PM.


#8 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 807 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 12:37 AM

Here is a screenshot

Attached Files



#9 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 4,476 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 1:20 AM

Maybe just enter a (new) filename, without any device ?



#10 HOME AUTOMATION ONLINE  

HOME AUTOMATION

    Moonsweeper

  • 314 posts
  • Location:"trapped in interspace"

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 1:48 AM

Are you using a solid TI or EMU?

 

worked for me! see...

 

Attached File  SAVEGAME.JPG   104.21KB   0 downloads



#11 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,506 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 4:55 AM

This looks like it is asking for just name and is saving to Cassette Tape.

 

I think you need a manual for game. 

 

What shall I do?  

Never seen that before.



#12 blackbox OFFLINE  

blackbox

    Chopper Commander

  • 188 posts
  • Location:England

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 6:49 AM

The correct way this should work is:

WHAT SHOULD I DO?
   SAVE GAME

 

TYPE FILE SAVE NAME:
  DSK1.BRAD         (or CS1)

This requires that you have:

an operational disk system (real or emulated) with DSK1 set up and

with a writable disk   and 

with adequate space on the disk (over 50 sectors free).  

There is a full stop between DSK1 and BRAD.

 

NOTE: The program will give you no feed back that a file has been written but will proceed again with

WHAT SHALL I DO?

You must check the disk for a file some other way!! (And if using an emulator you may need to refresh a directory).


Edited by blackbox, Mon Feb 4, 2019 7:01 AM.


#13 Lee Stewart ONLINE  

Lee Stewart

    River Patroller

  • 3,903 posts
  • Location:Silver Run, Maryland

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 9:08 AM

...

What shall I do?  

Never seen that before.

 

“WHAT SHALL I DO?” is not a prompt from TI Basic or TI Extended Basic.  It is one of many prompts used by Scott Adams Adventure games.  Strange Odyssey is one such game.  If you have never played one, that would explain why you have never before seen that prompt.

 

...lee



#14 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 807 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 6:50 PM

I don't know how to look at directories in TI99 emulator?



#15 Fritz442 OFFLINE  

Fritz442

    Chopper Commander

  • 220 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2019 7:13 PM

I don't know how to look at directories in TI99 emulator?

Which emulator are you using? Or are you using a real TI99?


Edited by Fritz442, Mon Feb 4, 2019 7:16 PM.

  • RXB likes this

#16 Fritz442 OFFLINE  

Fritz442

    Chopper Commander

  • 220 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2019 12:18 PM

Which emulator are you using? Or are you using a real TI99?

If you are using Gamebase and Classic99, you are using a slightly modified version of an emulator. You cannot save to DSK1 or DSK2,

try saving to DSK3-which is already setup to use...IE 'SAVE GAME' then 'DSK3.BRAD'






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users