IGNORED

Atari 7800 - problem with controllers

lewiS

Hi all,

I am very new to Atari 7800 world and I need some advice from more experienced users.

Let me explain the whole story. I have purchased my first Atari 7800 about a month ago. As I am based in UK, it is PAL console (let's name it unit A). It came with two europads and two games (Jinks and Barnyard Blaster). Over the period of the month I have bought another 8 games and I have discovered that second fire buttons on my controllers do not work. I have also bought 3rd europad and managed to borrow Proline controller off the person who is sure that is working fine.

None of these had working secondary fire button on my console. Moreover, the Proline had no working buttons at all. I have disassembled all 3 europads and cleaned them inside. While doing that and I have connected them to the console and tested both buttons, but no change. Only first fire button worked. Strangely enough when I plug 2600 game both buttons work as a charm.