IGNORED

Clever or interesting uses of the BRK instruction?

AkashicRecord

It can be used for calling a subroutine with an argument. The BRK instruction takes an extra padding byte after the instruction. References frequently list BRK as being a 1 byte instruction, but it actually uses 2 bytes. I'm using it in my game for a generalized way to call subroutines in other banks with 1 byte argument.

It can be used to quickly strobe two bytes on RESx. That's also mentioned in the link above.

It can also be used to implement cooperative multi-tasking by placing task switching code in the interrupt handler.

• Like 3

That's exactly along the lines of how I thought it could be utilized. The sound driver code example in the link is certainly interesting as well.

Nice to see you back on here, Akashic. :waving: Have you had any time to work on your Tetris game lately? I used to enjoy reading your postings on that thread even though I'm not that technically-minded (it always made me feel smarter when I understood a little of it. :dunce:)

• Like 1

Nice to see you back on here, Akashic. :waving: Have you had any time to work on your Tetris game lately? I used to enjoy reading your postings on that thread even though I'm not that technically-minded (it always made me feel smarter when I understood a little of it. :dunce:)

Thanks!

Yep, I'm back to developing it (as of just a few days ago.)

I'll be updating it's main thread in the near future. :)

• Like 2

It can be used for calling a subroutine with an argument.

Wow! I'm new-ish at this stuff, and that's the first time I've seen the "cookbook" at that link. There's some seriously great stuff there.

It looks like there were more ideas planned that were yet-to-be collected in it. Did it ever get finished or more fleshed-out?

Hi Joe, I went here:

http://atariage.com/forums/topic/195210-very-early-wip-of-something-ive-been-working-on-for-ages/?p=2482601