IGNORED

FlashFloppy v0.14 Gotek drive newbie help please

256 colors

The 1040STE eBay purchase came with FlashFloppy v0.14 Gotek drive and 15GB VERBATIM USB stick

The USB stick has 68 files mostly all games in ST/MSA and maybe more file formats i didn't check them all

On the drive two buttons a green light and rotary dial My problem is i have no idea how to use it being total newbie this stuff

I did do google search could only find advance topics like installation and firmware stuff i'm all at sea here trying to understand the basics of loading and browsing files

The only other file in the USB was a IMAGE_A CFG file thats reads like: AnotherW_FL/Another World1.st

Any help please?

Edited by 256 colors

I think you set the dial to 000 then reboot the machine. At that point you have to assign which file goes to each dial number from 001 and up

Something like that if you start from 0 for example then dial or button up to [] then wait and starts from a and so on

Not worked out yet how to jump to any letter without dialing up or down?

I would recommend installing the latest firmware firstly. The newer version 1.0 can be downloaded from here:

https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wiki/Downloads

Copy the UPD file to the root directory of your USB. With the computer powered off, press and hold both buttons on the Gotek and then power on the computer. The Gotek will read the update file and update the firmware (you’ll see “UPD” displayed on the LED display while its upgrading).

In the zip file, you find a generic CFG file and an Atari ST AUTOBOOT.HFE file that you can copy to the root directory of your USB. This will give you the File Selector that will start when the drive is set to slot “000”.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

I would recommend installing the latest firmware firstly. The newer version 1.0 can be downloaded from here:

https://github.com/keirf/FlashFloppy/wiki/Downloads