Photo

RespeQt SIO2PC + Real Drive (XF551)

9 replies to this topic

#1 6BQ5 OFFLINE  

6BQ5

Chopper Commander

• 218 posts

Posted Sun Mar 10, 2019 9:23 AM

It is possible to easily use the RespeQt SIO2PC system alongside a real drive? For example, could I set one to D1 and the other to D2? It seems other solutions like the SDrive-Mac and SIO2SD have issues working with real hardware.

Thanks!

#2 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

River Patroller

• 3,968 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.

Posted Sun Mar 10, 2019 9:32 AM

It is possible to easily use the RespeQt SIO2PC system alongside a real drive? For example, could I set one to D1 and the other to D2? It seems other solutions like the SDrive-Mac and SIO2SD have issues working with real hardware.

Thanks!

Sure. RespeQt itself has no issues with that whatsoever. Just make sure that you don’t load a disk image into the drive slot you’re using for your physical drives and you’ll be fine as far as the software goes.

Now, having said that, there are some SIO2PC devices that don’t play well with other devices on the SIO chain, as users of the SDrive-MAX have found out. Most FTDI-based USB-to-serial devices don’t have a problem with it, but some other devices, and some obscure variants of the FTDI chipset, *do* have an issue, but it can usually be corrected with installation of a diode on the correct signal pin.

But RespeQt itself should be just fine with multiple devices.

#3 6BQ5 OFFLINE  

6BQ5

Chopper Commander

• Topic Starter
  • 218 posts

Posted Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:42 AM

Sure. RespeQt itself has no issues with that whatsoever. Just make sure that you don’t load a disk image into the drive slot you’re using for your physical drives and you’ll be fine as far as the software goes.