Jump to content

Photo

ATARI 1030


12 replies to this topic

#1 firestorm OFFLINE  

firestorm

    Moonsweeper

  • 287 posts
  • Location:Northampton, UK

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 4:30 PM

It's my ATARI 1030 in action ;)

 

https://youtu.be/3BJARaDA2hI



#2 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,687 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 4:54 PM

Nice. Many phone lines nowadays which are bridged over fibre, cable and the Internet mangle these old modem protocols. Did you still have a real analog POTS line for this?

My online life started at 1200 baud... with my dads P:R: Connection and Avatex modem... must have been in the 86-88 timeframe. Later in like 1993 I borrowed an XM301 from a friend just to 'experience' 300 baud, and the dialing of DTMF and hearing the phone line connecting through the computer speaker. I presume the XM301 is basically the same as the 1030, hardware and software wise?

PS: tripods are good. ;)

#3 firestorm OFFLINE  

firestorm

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 287 posts
  • Location:Northampton, UK

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:07 PM

I agree with you on subject of camera stabilisation but please forgive me my excitement when I was connecting to Nostromo... ;)

This was done in 2014 using BT landline in UK.

ATARI 1030 is 300 baud.



#4 Stephen ONLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,539 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:09 PM

My1st online experience was at a friend's house.  1030 modem on a 1200XL computer.  Soon after I was using an XM301 on my 130XE.  I upgraded to an SX212, then my drive died and I went without computer from 91-94.  Came back online with an AMD 486 DX-4 100 and a 14.4 modem.  Boy - had times ever changed.  I missed the entire ST/Amiga, Falcon, 286,386, etc era.



#5 manterola ONLINE  

manterola

    Moonsweeper

  • 316 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:17 PM

Nice. Many phone lines nowadays which are bridged over fibre, cable and the Internet mangle these old modem protocols. Did you still have a real analog POTS line for this?

My online life started at 1200 baud... with my dads P:R: Connection and Avatex modem... must have been in the 86-88 timeframe. Later in like 1993 I borrowed an XM301 from a friend just to 'experience' 300 baud, and the dialing of DTMF and hearing the phone line connecting through the computer speaker. I presume the XM301 is basically the same as the 1030, hardware and software wise?

PS: tripods are good. ;)

I have used my xm301 over Google voice using an OBi, so essentially was over internet. It worked perfectly. I guess that 300baud is not enough to make the communication fail.

#6 gilsaluki OFFLINE  

gilsaluki

    Dragonstomper

  • 792 posts

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:21 PM

I never got 'online' back in the day. Now that I have some time (I am getting in the upper senior citizen age), there are no more dial ups remaining for me to log on to. Sad.

#7 firestorm OFFLINE  

firestorm

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 287 posts
  • Location:Northampton, UK

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:22 PM

300 baud is the only safe way of communication this days ;) 



#8 firestorm OFFLINE  

firestorm

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 287 posts
  • Location:Northampton, UK

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:24 PM

Try the one I used.

 

http://www.incanus.demon.co.uk/



#9 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 3,858 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:55 PM

My first modem was a 1030 in the summer of 1985, received as a gift for my 17th birthday. :) I upgraded to a 1200 baud modem when I bought my ST before college in the summer of '86 but for a year, I cruised the information backroads from my 800 at a rockin' 300 bits per second. 



#10 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,107 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sat Mar 16, 2019 6:29 PM

I never did get "on-line" back in the day, I have a 1030 now that I'm hoping to use soon, once I get a land-line in my house. IIRC, there are a few of us Atari fans running BBS's still, I wanted to try them out. Though, I've been thinking of getting an SX212 and fit it in my 1030 case...1200 baud I think is slow enough for me, but I'll try out 300 baud at least once.



#11 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,896 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:08 PM

Hello guys

 

My first modem was a SupraModem2400 and my second was a SupraFaxModem14400.  I used both with my 130XE.  The first IIRC with my 850, the second with my BlackBox.

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy

 

PS calling from NL to the US was very expensive way back when.  My highest phone bill was 700 guilders, which would have been 318 euro today.  Ouch!


Edited by Mathy, Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:10 PM.


#12 tf_hh OFFLINE  

tf_hh

    Dragonstomper

  • 767 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:01 AM

It's my ATARI 1030 in action ;)

 

Very nice!

 

The 1030 is the one and only Atari XL style item I didn´t own... nearly impossible to get one in Europe. I bought two times one at eBay USA, but in both cases the seller use such a bullsh*t packaging that I got only a puzzle, not a device. Ok, paypal refunds money in both times when I sent the pictures of the parcel, but... very unsatisfying.

 

If anyone here has one to sell and would be able to pack a good parcel... let me know :-)



#13 tf_hh OFFLINE  

tf_hh

    Dragonstomper

  • 767 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:11 AM

Nice. Many phone lines nowadays which are bridged over fibre, cable and the Internet mangle these old modem protocols. Did you still have a real analog POTS line for this?

 

BTW... some weeks ago I´ve to test the serial communications for Dropcheck´s upcoming SIO2IO board, so I grab my good old US Robotics Courier Dual Standard modem and try to connect some BBS... and, I was very surprised, it works better than expected! Of course I´ve no POTS or ISDN landline anymore, here in Germany nearly all fixed-net connection are Cable or DSL/VDSL using VOIP for telephone services. So I connect the USR modem to the analogue port for POTS devices of my router and dial some numbers. Connections with 300 and 1200 bps works absolute fine, no garbage (this speeds only without MNP or V.42). Using 2400 bps some garbage appears, but it works fine.

 

Step-by-step I increase the maximum connection speed up to 33.6k using V.42 error correction (MNP - no chance). The connections were reliable up to approx. 26.4k. At all speeds above a carrier-lost within 2-3 minutes will appear. A connection using V.32bis (14.4k) with V.42 stays stable for 30 minutes. Never thought this way possible using VOIP connections...

 

Maybe the renaissance of BBS is possible :-)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users