Jump to content

Photo

Connecting Atari 800XL to Internet BBS

bbs wifi atari800xl

72 replies to this topic

#26 toddtmw OFFLINE  

toddtmw

    Dragonstomper

  • 630 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:15 PM

SIO2IO is coming. Dropcheck is working on it. It includes a printer (parallel) interface, a serial interface and a connector to plug an Esp8266 wifi module or maybe the esp8266 will be included, not sure.

 

Is there a place to show interest for this so we get notified when it is available?



#27 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,082 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:57 PM

Amusingly enough, Weather Undeground still has a text-based interface available too. :)

 

IMG_1379.JPG

 

(1088XLD home-built Atari-based machine connected via SIO to a vintage ICD P:R:Connection; PRC connected via vintage CX-87 Terminal  RS232C RB9-DB25 cable (+ DB25 gender changer) to a circa-2004 Lantronix MSS100 Ethernet gateway. The Lantronix box emulates a Hayes-compatible modem and allows connection to a home LAN. The serial client - the Atari terminal software - "dials" with ATDT commands to an internet IP address or full-text URL and the Lantronix passes on the connection to the LAN gateway. So the Atari thinks it's talking to a modem for all practical purposes). 



#28 annomatik OFFLINE  

annomatik

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:34 AM

So... I now have the 850 (without power supply) and the Wifi Modem (without the serial cable)...

 

What's missing still is

 

1) the power supply for the 850 ( bestelec (at) concentric (dot) net ? - haven't received any reply from them ) and

2) the serial cable, I need a 9 pole to 9 pole one -- which one should I get?

 

Thanks!



#29 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 815 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:52 AM

You need the cable for the 850 (CX-87 if I recall, the CX-88 is the null modem cable so don't get that)... You can get it at best electronics also or try B&C at www.myatari.com (also on ebay as "myatari" but I just checked and all he has on there right now is the CX-88).

 

Then you'll need a 25 pin to 9 pin adapter, because I don't think they made the 850 interface cable in a 9-9 (though you could probably wire one up yourself).

 

Have you tried calling them?  They have a phone number at the bottom of the page.



#30 annomatik OFFLINE  

annomatik

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:58 AM

Well... My 850 came with a 9 pole to 25 pole serial cable... Would a "regular" 9 to 9 pole serial cable work? Or would it be preferable to get a 25-to-9 pole adapter? Personally, I'd prefer the "straight" route without adapters, but if the cabling of the 850 serial cable is "special", that won't work of course.

 

Calling... I'm located in Europe, calling might be pretty expensive, so if there's a different way to get a power supply for the 50, I'd be very interested :-)



#31 annomatik OFFLINE  

annomatik

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:02 AM

How about this cable?

 

https://www.ebay.com...nIAAOSwYlRZE55O



#32 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • 3,245 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:32 AM

The Atari 850 does not use the 9-pin RS232 pinout that was established with the IBM AT, but rather its own thing. You have to use a cable wired for the 850.

 

-Thom



#33 annomatik OFFLINE  

annomatik

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:50 AM

Thanks, I'll get a 25-to-9 adapter then.



#34 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,943 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:28 PM

Thanks, I'll get a 25-to-9 adapter then.

no, you can only use a gender changer or converter on the 25 pin side of the cable, as was explained the 9 pin side is atari 850/pr/mio specific... the 25 pin side is usually set up for a modem or terminal.... a null modem adaptor can only work on that 25 pin end of the cable...



#35 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 714 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:43 PM

sync term HATES windows 7...  I can't get it to run for &*&*@&^&^%()_@_!)*@

so It's fine on XP and Vista...

 

unless someone has it figured out...

Here is the version I use.. works on all Win10/8/7/xp

 

James

Attached Files



#36 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,943 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 9:54 PM

and it does the same syncterm has stopped working routine....  Windows 7 64 bit... no go...


Edited by _The Doctor__, Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:30 PM.


#37 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:07 PM

Here is the version I use.. works on all Win10/8/7/xp

 

James

I had MSVCRT error on that under XP32.



#38 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Flux Capacitor Master Craftsman

  • 6,943 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:08 PM

after deleting v 1.0 and 1.1b and taking an ice pick to the registry to gouge the eyes out....    a quick re install yields success!

so my win 7 is now running sync term 1.1b....  only one bbs in the list now instead of my normal 200...

 

Thanks for the file

 

edit, crashes when using the desktop icon, but runs from the start menu....???  !!!  oh well, at least I can use it.


Edited by _The Doctor__, Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:29 PM.


#39 annomatik OFFLINE  

annomatik

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:20 PM

no, you can only use a gender changer or converter on the 25 pin side of the cable, as was explained the 9 pin side is atari 850/pr/mio specific... the 25 pin side is usually set up for a modem or terminal.... a null modem adaptor can only work on that 25 pin end of the cable...

 

That's exactly the plan. The 9-pole part seems to be Atari-custom, the 25-pole part seems to be standard, so I've ordered a 25-to-9 pole converter.

 

Also, I now have the feedback from best electronics. Unfortunatelly, they don't seem to have a european version of the 850 power supply on stock... Any other suggestions? Thanks!

 

Q. Hi! I'm looking for an 
European Atari 850 supply -- can you help me out? A Sorry to say we 
only have New US 110V Atari 850 power supplies instock. Even if we did have 
the EURO version 850 Powers supplies in stock.because of the very high cost 
of International shipping to Austria and the heavy ship weight of one it 
would simply not cost effective for you. Thethe shipping cost only would be 
more than the cost of 850 power supplyitself. You are much better off 
finding one in the Euro zone, where shippingis about 1/5 to 1/6 the cost of 
International shipping.

 



#40 mr-atari OFFLINE  

mr-atari

    Dragonstomper

  • 586 posts
  • Location:netherlands

Posted Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:25 AM

It's the standard atari 9 VAC power source.

So your 1010 or 1050 PSU will do fine too.

 

I always use my 1010 adapter, that has enough power, no problems, never had.



#41 annomatik OFFLINE  

annomatik

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted Fri Apr 19, 2019 9:01 AM

I only have the 800XL and the power connector does not fit (no disk drives / no tape drives / just a cartridge-based card-reader) :-) Does anyone here sell a european 1010 / 1050 PSU here or does anyone know where to get one?



#42 ricortes OFFLINE  

ricortes

    Dragonstomper

  • 688 posts

Posted Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:58 AM

You can use any 9VAC transformer that puts out ~3 amps or 30 Watts. *IFF* you are never going to use it with something like a disk drive, you could get away with less power. https://www.ebay.com...18AAOSwAAVZbEkf is an example of something that would work for you with something like an 850. You just have to connect a power cord and something that works on the Atari side.

 

I've personally done a lot of weak hacks. Everything from scavenging parts from broken power supplies to using to shopping surplus stores for parts that are close. Everything works.  



#43 toddtmw OFFLINE  

toddtmw

    Dragonstomper

  • 630 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted Fri Apr 19, 2019 11:47 AM

I bought 2 of these
https://smile.amazon...ob_b_asin_title
Looks like it works with both 110 and 240.

Then I bought one fo these and cut it in half to wire it to the power adapters. Ended up with 2 adapters for a reasonable price.
https://smile.amazon...g?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Todd

#44 Mark loves Stella OFFLINE  

Mark loves Stella

    Star Raider

  • 58 posts
  • Location:Concord, NC

Posted Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:26 PM

The Atari 850 does not use the 9-pin RS232 pinout that was established with the IBM AT, but rather its own thing. You have to use a cable wired for the 850.

 

-Thom

 

I opened up my 850 and rewired the rs232 port to make it compatible with the standard IBM pinout.  No more adapter cables needed. :)



#45 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 4,082 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:31 PM

You could also just buy a DB9 connector and whatever size you want/need at the other end and just wire up your own. That's not *that* hard, and certainly easier than wiring up, say, a brand new DIN13 connector from scratch (which I did myself a few weeks ago, lol).


Edited by DrVenkman, Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:47 PM.


#46 annomatik OFFLINE  

annomatik

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:45 AM

 

Ok... So it's 5 V, Negative pole outside, Positive pole inside. I should find something like that. Thanks!



#47 toddtmw OFFLINE  

toddtmw

    Dragonstomper

  • 630 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati, Ohio

Posted Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:43 AM

 

Ok... So it's 5 V, Negative pole outside, Positive pole inside. I should find something like that. Thanks!

 

Sorry, that wasn't my point. I cut the barrel connector off and spliced the power supply into the midi cable using a wiring diagram to put the correct pins to the correct side of the power supply output.



#48 annomatik OFFLINE  

annomatik

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 25 posts

Posted Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:22 PM

Well, I think I'm a little bit closer. Apparently, it's 9V, but AC, not DC. And there are "modern" replacement PSUs available, but they don't seem to ship to my country. Not that easy...

 

https://www.ebay.de/itm/192890324972



#49 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 4,097 posts
  • broadway1.lorexddns.net 10001
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:52 PM

Please, people. Don't hack up your Atari stuff for custom cables, etc. Order your CX-87 or CX-88 modem cable, or build one yourself. Don't hack up your 850. Also, power supply is AC, not DC.



#50 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 714 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:55 PM

OK.. SO I dont want a CX87 with a lantronix correct?? I want a null modem cable?

 

Like this?

 

http://mixinc.net/at...ts/null9_25.htm

 

James


Edited by Bikerbob, Fri Apr 26, 2019 9:04 PM.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: bbs, wifi, atari800xl

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users