Jump to content

Photo

How to indent (force the forum to leave a space)


5 replies to this topic

#1 Random Terrain ONLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 28,862 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Fri Jul 29, 2005 10:13 AM

There are two easy ways to force an 'indent' (a no-break space) at most message boards. If you have a Windows PC, you can 'type' it by holding down the Alt key and punching in the numbers 255 or 0160 with the numbers on the side of your keyboard or you can use that cool little program called Character Map. If you run that and look between the tilde and the inverted exclamation mark, you'll see the no break space. You can copy and paste it when you need to force a blank space. Whether you copy it from Character Map or use Alt+255 or Alt+0160, it's pretty fast and not too much of a pain.

You can read more about it here:

http://www.fileforma.../00a0/index.htm


If you have a long chunk of code to post, you can use kisrael's free online tool:

http://alienbill.com...asic/aabbcc.cgi

Edited by Random Terrain, Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:46 AM.


#2 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 15,945 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Fri Jul 29, 2005 10:51 AM

For some reason I always used alt 0928

#3 Bruce Tomlin OFFLINE  

Bruce Tomlin

    River Patroller

  • 3,614 posts
  • CD C9 01
  • Location:San Antonio, TX

Posted Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:02 AM

There are two easy ways to force an 'indent' (a no-break space) at most message boards. You can 'type' it by holding down the Alt key and punching in the numbers 255 with the numbers on the side of your keyboard or you can use that cool little program called Character Map (if you have a Windows PC). If you run that and look between the tilde and the inverted exclamation mark, you'll see the no break space. You can copy it and paste it when you need to force a blank space. Whether you copy it from Character Map or use Alt+255, it's pretty fast and not too much of a pain.

You can read more about it here:

http://www.fileforma.../00a0/index.htm

That's a 160, not a 255. 255 being a blank is a PC-ism and doesn't apply to non-PC hardware. Also, there's " " to force a blank. Which is generally a lot more reliable when you're entering plain HTML rather than bbcode.

Anyhow, on this BB software, the CODE tags work right except that the first blank of every line that starts with a blank is removed. Which is annoying as hell.

FWIW, "0928" is just a fancy way of saying 160, since ALT+keypad wraps around every 256.

#4 Random Terrain ONLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • Topic Starter
  • 28,862 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:31 AM

There are two easy ways to force an 'indent' (a no-break space) at most message boards. You can 'type' it by holding down the Alt key and punching in the numbers 255 with the numbers on the side of your keyboard or you can use that cool little program called Character Map (if you have a Windows PC). If you run that and look between the tilde and the inverted exclamation mark, you'll see the no break space. You can copy it and paste it when you need to force a blank space. Whether you copy it from Character Map or use Alt+255, it's pretty fast and not too much of a pain.

You can read more about it here:

http://www.fileforma.../00a0/index.htm

That's a 160, not a 255. 255 being a blank is a PC-ism and doesn't apply to non-PC hardware. Also, there's " " to force a blank. Which is generally a lot more reliable when you're entering plain HTML rather than bbcode.

Anyhow, on this BB software, the CODE tags work right except that the first blank of every line that starts with a blank is removed. Which is annoying as hell.

FWIW, "0928" is just a fancy way of saying 160, since ALT+keypad wraps around every 256.

View Post

http://www.fileforma.../00a0/index.htm
How to type in Microsoft Windows:
Alt+00A0
Alt+0160
Alt+255

I use Alt+255 since it is one less number to type and I have a PC.

#5 kisrael OFFLINE  

kisrael

    HMBL 2600 coder

  • 4,071 posts
  • Location:Boston Burbs, MA

Posted Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:51 AM

I think the solution I list at
http://www.atariage....showtopic=73644
is the best bet, at least for CODE blocks....remember there's a chance that other people might not be able to see the spaces

#6 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 15,945 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Fri Jul 29, 2005 12:24 PM

FWIW, "0928" is just a fancy way of saying 160, since ALT+keypad wraps around every 256.


Aaahh! So that makes sense now :

˭




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users