IGNORED

NEWB questions: carts, BASIC flavors, graphics

ceratophyllum

I am a little confused about why people want to build cartridge hardware to put new TI994/A software on. Isn't it easier just to distribute E/A object files on disk(real or emulated)? I mean practically every game cart in the "Modules on Disk" collection works fine LOADed with GPL simulator from disk. I never had a GRAM kracker back in the 80s and, judging by how expensive & rare they are on eBay, probably never will get one. However, I like using a REAL old TI994/A with it's HAL9000-looking PEB. (NanoPEB is fun, too. :)) It is definitely a priority for me to be able to program on a real TI.

What I'm after: the easiest way to write graphics programs on a real TI. Currently, I'm goofing around with 1D cellular automata (Rule 30, 90), the logistic map, and looking for other computationally cheap-ish fractal(?) thingies. (Trees? Koch Snowflake?) I'm studying assembly using a 2XAA powered-MiniMemory and M.S. Morley's book, but this is a long, uphill battle.... (I know there are other books, some using E/A, but I find Morley's writing easy to understand. So far...)

So I see there is/has been all this work on RXB, super XB, Cortex Basic, rumors of XB3, etc. The only one I can actually try out on my REAL TI is Cortex because it is on a disk image as an E/A, funnelweb+XB, MiniMemory loadable object file. I really like Cortex's PLOTting abilities: the syntax is concise (Plotting a line is just PLOT x1,y1 TO x2,y2. Make a circle by plotting cos, sin wrapped in a for loop.) and it seems about twice as fast as the Missing Link which is just, well, too kludgy & copyright-encumbered anyway. In addition, PLOT produces output immediately, unlike super XB and does not (annoyingly) clear the screen when the program ends.

Can I somehow dump other BASIC cart images in an emulator to disk images using a GRAM Kracker RPK in emulation? Is there a guide for this some place? Has it been done?