IGNORED

What's your oldest email address you still use?

Just got an email from yahoo saying they are upgrading their service, and it started out saying that I have been a user for 14 years. All that time just slipped past me! Hard to believe that 14 years ago using win 3.11 I signed up for a yahoo mail account. I think that computer was a 486DX100 or something. Might have been a 75mhz.

I've been using e-mail since 1996, but my present e-mail addresses are only about three years old. I finally got my own domain in 2008, and after I created a new set of addresses for myself, I closed or abandoned all the others. I have a few others through school and work, but they all forward to my personal mailboxes.

I still have one of my original e-mail accounts. Either it was '96 or '97. I don't use it much anymore since I created a Gmail account a few years back, and now it's primarily there for spam. The other day actually, I looked through some of my oldest emails from it, some from the late '90s. It's interesting to go back that far and see what my writing was like back then, rediscovering different aspects of conversations that my memory had long since forgotten, and remembering people I haven't talked to in over a decade..

Before webmail, I went through emails like I went through phone numbers. Then came my Earthlink email, which I had for a couple years. I've had yahoo since about '05, gmail maybe a year later. I don't remember when or why I set up a hotmail account but I did at some point early on. I believe my first email account was set up in 1999. That's ancient history now. Now that I have my own domain, I've added a couple new email addresses. :D

From 1996 until 2003 all my email addresses were tethered to paid ISP accounts so I didn't get to keep any of those. My current email address though is on a domain owned by a friend, as is a previous one I used before then which I still keep open.

The domain is thecowsaysmoo.org.