IGNORED

Custom 5200 controller

Devalis

I'm wondering if anyone has built a custom 5200 controller out of a PS1 DualShock. I've seen where they make the joystick digital, but I'm wanting to keep it analog. I'm not an electrical engineer, but I would think the big difference in the pot values could pose a problem if wired up straight, so I would think you might need either a voltage regulator controlled by the PS1 pots, or a digital potentiometer. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

• 1 month later...

I've been looking into something similar (though in my case I was looking into the components of a Dual Shock 3). The trouble is that the two-axis potentiometers they use in the thumbstick are far more sensitive than the ones used in the 5200 controllers (10 kOhms vs 640 kOhms). I don't know if they even make thumbsticks with that sort of range.

I was hoping I could build a new joystick from scratch using a Parallax 27800 thumbstick as the analog control, but it looks like it's wasn't to be. :(

• 3 weeks later...

Update: I just used a multimeter to test the Parallax 27800 thumbstick. (took me a long time because I needed a probe with alligator clamps on it) At rest it has a value of 40 ohms, in one direction it has a value of almost 0, in the other 80. Therefore I think this might work in a 5200 controller if it were paired with a 600K resistor. (or better yet, a pair of 1M potentiometers to use as trimming controls. That would make it both a regular joystick, AND a paddle control.)

The only thing I did not like about that vaporware, according to that linked website, was that it did not offer two stick control for Space Dungeon and Robotron 2084. I envision a single PS2 controller with two separate cords coming out, one for controller port 1 and the other for controller port 2. Heaven would be playing Space Dungeon with the two PS2 thumbsticks.

• Like 1