IGNORED

A New twist on Pac Man?

1980gamer

I have been playing with the new XB-Compiler and it has given life to the TI-99 again!

I had a TRON-ish idea while playing Pac-man... What would happen if the maze was 2 sided?

I came up with this proof of concept for some real programmers to take over.

It playes like pac-man, the ghosts go through the tunnel as normal, however, when pac man goes through,

the screen raps around to the other side, the left right controls are reversed and you have to eat the dots

on both sides of the screen to complete a level.

I do not consider myself a developer/programmer, I am a DBA and write T-SQL mostly.

I will keep going on this project, but I wife someone would really run with this!

This sample still has debug info displayed and throught the code. If I have enough time, I will try 2 player turn based.

Again, thanks for the XB COMPILER and WIN994a and of course CLASSIC99, being able to edit outside of the TI99

is a so AWESOME! Then paste snippets back in... I cannot say enough!!

The compiled version runs way to fast right now, bu you can get an idea in CLASSIC99 with overclocking!

The ZIP contains a TEXT version and a DSK version that is already compliled...VERY FAST!

Gene

pac.zip

• Like 1

I was pretty sleepy when I posted last night.

Keyboard control only ( for now ) E=up, X=down , S=Left on the top side and right on the bottom side, D= Right on the Top and Left on the Bottom.

Thanks sometimes99er... Another shout out for magelian and patterns, I would have had a few walls for testing only and a few squares for graphics!

Everyone should check out the tools on http://sometimes.planet-99.net/ Oh and TiDir for letting me move files between emulators!

Only 1 ghost moves at present, the others eyes move to match the first ghost direction, this was for testing. The second will move at some point.

It will be smarter than the first but move slower.

Be well!

Gene