IGNORED

EAMON for A8?

Muzz73

Hello, all...

While there are hundreds of EAMON adventures for the Apple ][, I've noticed that there have only been one or two converted for use on the A8 and was wondering how difficult it'd be convert the rest of them over.

Let me add that I have no programming knowledge whatsoever and don't have any clue how these games are structured and was wondering if, perhaps, they were simply ASCII text with a BASIC interpreter (like Zork).

Is there anyone out there who might have an idea where/how I could get started (apart from learning Atari BASIC, which I already plan to do)?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Muzz73
  • Like 1

http://www.eamonag.org/columns/mainpgmtour.htm contains the source code (actually a BASIC listing). Glossing over it does not seem to contain anything that couldn't be duplicated in ATARI BASIC or Turbo BASIC XL.

It should be possible to do a rather straightforward conversion (though I have not looked at the actual game files yet).

I was thinking BASIC, because AFAIK, the Apple ][ files were done in BASIC, so I figured there might be minimal loss and minimal tweaking needed to get it done.

Like I said, I have no programming knowledge at all and am just looking for a place to start.

Thanks!

I ported the Eamon master disk to the A8 back in the day (probably around 1989 or so):

http://gury.atari8.info/details_source_code/3959.php

I also ported the Dungeon Designer disk which allowed you to make new games. I don't see that anywhere online so I can try to dig through my old disks and see if I still have it. It was pretty rough but I believe it was reasonably functional.

Nice! Thanks for the pointers, folks!

Does anyone know offhand which version of BASIC EAMON was originally done in? Applesoft? Integer?

I'm wondering if knowing that would help us to find the version of BASIC on the A8 most suitable.

BTW, pretty sure that conversion to Atari MS Basic would be quite easy.