IGNORED

Lantronix Hook Up

budz2355

I know there are several threads on this already so hopefully this isn't too redundant...

I am looking at the lantronix to rsr232 serial port 25 pin map. The part that is confusing to me is why is pin 7 on one end mapped to pin 7 on the other end? By this logic shouldn't all the pins that are the same be listed? ex: pin 1 to pin 1?

I am sure there is something I am missing? I just wanted to know why this is listed, I thought just the pins that are mismatched would be listed, for example pin 2 to pin 3.

Also since I have never done this before: I take the blue wire and but it in pin 2, then on the other end the same blue wire goes to pin 3?

Below is what I believe to be the correct pin mapping? Also if green wire on pin 5 goes to pin 4 on the UDS10, does then pin 5 on the UDS go to pin 4 on the TI?

If someone to dumb this down even further for me that would be greatly appreciated.

TI UDS10

2 <----------------------------- 3

3 ------------------------------> 2

5 -------------------------------> 4

7 -------------------------------- 7

20 <------------------------------- 5

• Like 1

a typical 25 pin connector has the ability to have 2 devices hooked into it, plus it has a lot of control lines for terminals and printers that are not needed for this type of communication, at a bare minimum you will need rx tx and ground + a couple more if you want handshaking and whatnot (which you probably do on a vintage machine, if it supports it)

Edited by Osgeld

Does anyone have a link to the fast term manual? I think I have all the hardware hooked up correctly, but unfortunately I do not have a working copy of telco. Would a terminal emulator cartridge work? I have fast term on a diskette, but I don't know what to do to.