AtariAge Logo LYNX
  Have You Played Atari Today? 2600|5200|7800|Lynx|Jaguar|Forums|Store  



Atari Lynx Programmers

ProgrammersBack in the days of the Atari 2600, most games were created by a single individual who did the design, programming, graphics and sound. These days it takes large teams of people many months (years!) to create a single game. But back then, if you had the skills you could program a 2600 game by yourself in a few short months (weeks!) As time passed and the capabilities of systems improved, more people were needed in order to produce a quality game.

The information provided below comes from many different sources. Some companies, such as Activision, were pretty open about who their programmers were. Others, such as Atari, kept this info in the dark (probably to keep other companies from stealing their talent!) Several classic gaming programmers have publicly spoken about their accomplishments, and for those individuals information is generally comprehensive. We also used The Giant List of Classic Game Programmers as a reference in compiling our list of programmers for Atari systems. And some games have the programmer's name listed in the manual, on the cartridge, or somewhere in the game itself.

The list below is by no means complete. For that matter, this list is only a small subset of programmers who worked on titles for Atari systems. Unfortunately, as time goes on it's likely that such information will be even harder to come by. If you know someone who worked in the classic game industry, please let us know! We'd love to hear from them and would like to fill in as many blanks as possible. And we're not just talking about programmers here, we'll also acknowledge designers, artists, musicians, and so forth.

System View:   

Al Baker
Andrew Harris
Bastian Schick
Bjoern Sprueck
C. F. Urquhart
Carl Forhan
Chris Manniex
Chuck Sommerville
D. Scott Williamson
Dave Dies
David Axt
David Chiles
David Ellel
Dirk Christofzik
Ed Schneider
Eric Ginner
Gil Colgate
Greg Omi
Harry Dodgson
James Donald
Jerome Strach
Joe Jared
Joe Seider
Johannes Graf
John Hamilton
John May
John Sanderson
Jon Leupp
Jon Williams
Karri Kaksonen
Kay Uwe Kaul
Ken Beckett
Kris N. Johnson
Kurt Olsen
Larry Abel
Lou Haehn
Lucien Kleijkers
Markus Wuehl
Matthias Domin
Michael Archer
Mirek Zablocki
Nick Snape
Perry Horwich
Pete Wierzbicki
Peter Engelbrite
Rob Nicholson
Robert Zdybel
Roland Graf
S. A. Mitchell
Simon Ffinch
Stephen Jungels
Stephen Landrum
Steve DeFrisco
Steve Marschner
Steve Mitchell